By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more

Member postings for Peter Miller

Here is a list of all the postings Peter Miller has made in our forums. Click on a thread name to jump to the thread.

Thread: Is traditional building a disappearing art?
19/04/2018 18:11:28
Posted by Chris Reid on 19/04/2018 15:16:31:

I'm guessing that the basic creative urge will ensure that scratch building or kit assembly will always have a place, albeit a small one, for some model fliers. That said, we older modellers started out with kits and plans because there was no other option. If I was starting out today, maybe the lure of instant flying gratification with a pretty foamie would be irresistible. In the old days building took a long time and free flights were very short. The in-control feedback from flying wasn't there in anything like the way it is now.

As it is, I am a confirmed designer and builder, and have been since boyhood. It was my first job with International Model Aircraft Ltd (Frog) in 1959, and I'm still at it. See my build blog DH84 Dragon, on the forum.

CR

Chris.

Oh I remember those KK 3/6 kits. I could only persuade them to fly round the pole.

I must confess that having reached four score years I find that lugging a heavy flight box up a long slope to the flying field is getting a bit too much and smaller lighter models are very attractive.

On the thread, People will always want to create things and quite a few will want to build AND fly models

19/04/2018 15:01:04

Needless to say I just have to build. Recently I have just built a couple of vintages models from my past. Sheet relaxation and bringing back old memories.

Just finished my Veron Deacon, very very simple free flight but it was the building which is what mattered,

The radio is just so I don't have to walk to retrieve it.

Recently built a Little Ship and a Super 60. Now going to build n electric aerobatic model

deacon 1.jpg

Thread: GTC by Levanter