By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more

Member postings for Pete Willbourn

Here is a list of all the postings Pete Willbourn has made in our forums. Click on a thread name to jump to the thread.

Thread: Mirus Build Blog
18/02/2017 16:59:14

just a quickie on props, I am no expert but the 10 " pitch on the prop basically means that the prop will be stalled when there is no forward speed , angle of attack and all that is to great, bit like a wing at too great er angle of incidence and it would be acting more like a paddle than a prop , its not until the forward air flow is "fast " enough does the prop bite, and then its OFF !!!

Thats why your 10x6 is OK for the slower sports plane where the 9x7 is better for the faster aerobatic plane .

I am sure the aerodynamisists amongst us can explain it better , , but its why most pure jet engines have flow straightener struts in front of the compressor to stop the pre-rotation of the airflow .

cheers

17/02/2017 21:50:19

I have just been reminded by an ex club member that he has the fastest Mirrus yet to be seen , It is powered by a piped Leo 37 ? and is propped 8x10 !!! He now flies with one of the Leicester clubs ( where I guess sound ? is not a problem !!)

It has no thrust whilst stationary hence it needs a tame javelin thrower to get it air born But it goes like the "wind "

you will love it ! so build 2 whilst you are at it !!

cheers

Thread: Identification Please of this Oldie
15/02/2017 17:20:06

sprite004.jpgsprite002.jpgsprite 005.jpghere is another one for you , This one I used to fly with my uncle at the common behind Windermere , I guess in the very early 50s, its 42" span , and age has not been very kind to it ( well it could have been me !!)

so what "was" it ??? a Sprite what ??sprite 003.jpg

14/02/2017 13:18:05

The underneath is round with 5 stringers.

cheers

14/02/2017 09:28:20