By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more
Forum sponsored by:
Forum sponsored by CML

Starting a modelling club at school - which model to build?

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
Jon Kemm14/10/2015 13:25:39
5 forum posts

Hi,

I'm an experienced slope soaring pilot & teacher looking to start a modelling club at my school.

I've been looking at the FT Tiny Trainer as a quick build beginner model, but then thought I'd ask the modelling community for their thoughts.

So what do you think I should get them to build? The reason I chose the FT Tiny Trainer is because it looks cheap and there is a construction video the students could follow.

Cheers in advanced...

iqon14/10/2015 13:34:04
1209 forum posts
234 photos

Definitely a trainer, which one, upto you, but if you found one with a video, why ask, choice made...

Giuseppe Saroli14/10/2015 13:38:19
165 forum posts
238 photos

You can go wrong with the BMFA Dart one each to the kids to start Or are they to build one trainer to share!

Andy Green14/10/2015 14:17:24
2268 forum posts
67 photos
2 articles

I would stay away from the FT stuff for beginners. My Nephew and B in Law built a few, and while they fly OK they do have to be flown, if that makes sense.

Whether it's the weight / wing loading or poor aerodynamics you have to be on the sticks all the time.

Andy

Engine Doctor14/10/2015 15:48:01
1736 forum posts
4 photos

I have done this a couple of times in the past with local ATC .Started them off with a simple chuck glider with a simple comp at the end for longest flight . Sweets for prizes was a great success. Then moved onto control line models and sa couple of RC trainers but never finished them due to lack of commitment from ATC staff.

Some of the pitfalls along the way included :

One cadet trying out a scalpel on his fingers as he never believed me when I told him they were sharp !