By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more

Hitec Aurora 9

Manufacturer: Hitec

Find more products by Hitec

Average Rating
No. of Reviews15
RRPN/A

Fred Kirby wrote on 18/01/2014:
GREAT ALL ROUND RADIO THAT EATS UP THE COMPETITORS
Strengths: Touch screen, Great value for price, So simple to use, Telemetry feature
Weaknesses: Binding feature Only 30 model memory
Overall: An excellent radio that is very practical for entry level to competition.
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
80%
Overall
60%

bren wrote on 01/09/2013:
Ease of assembly
100%
Build quality
100%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
100%
Overall
80%

robert feltham wrote on 25/02/2013:
SUPERB
Strengths: Ease of use
Weaknesses: Can accidentally switch off when trimming.
Overall: Very happy with this set.Can set up complex models without manual! Telemetry good but fly electric and only use flight battery voltage.Tried other sensors but just too much info when flying.
Ease of assembly
100%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
60%
Overall
80%

ken anderson. wrote on 17/05/2012:
EASY TO SET UP AND USE
Strengths: price of the set is very good and also extra RX's are a bargain-going off the review chart-this set is up among the top no of review's.
Weaknesses: none - apart from the fact that the tx is slightly out of balance when used with a neck strap - can be lived with ..
Overall: i've allways been a die hard Futaba user/purchaser...but after seeing one of the Hitec 9's and using it...i'm afraid..all the Futaba gear is now up for sale.
Ease of assembly
60%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
100%
Overall
80%

Paul Joslyn wrote on 04/05/2012:
GREAT VALUE
Strengths: Reasonably priced, for both the tx and more importantly the rx’s too, great quality, very easy to program and very flexible. I have some quite complex programs on some full house gliders and they were easy to do and put each control exactly where I wanted them, not where the manufacturer thought they should go.
Weaknesses: Non really. Niggles: if you hold the RF module button to put into low power mode for range checking a few seconds too long, it re-acquires a new set of working channels for the DFSS system and consequently you have to re-bind every receiver – guess how I found this out! I got fed up of waiting for the promised ‘vario’ module that was supposed to be coming out last autumn so bought a traditional vario unit. Would have been nice to have had a neck trap balancer included, but I fly with a tray so it doesn’t bother me, and my DSX9 didn’t have one either.
Overall: Overall, the best radio out of those I have owned (FF9, Royal Evo 9, DSX9) Some people moan about the wire between the RF module and the aerial, but it has never been a problem. Never caught it on anything and I don’t even notice it any more. I’m about to order the RF module to convert my FF9 to Hitec DFSS too.
Ease of assembly
0%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
100%
Overall
60%

Andy Butler wrote on 07/04/2012:
EXCELLENT VALUE FOR MONEY
Strengths: The touch screen takes a bit of getting used to but I can now zip around the system really quickly and it's very intuitive.
Weaknesses: Haven't found anything it won't do.
Overall: A great bit of kit considering the price, nicely built and feels good to hold. Make sure you get the widget that balances up the radio as the original strap bracket is too low down.
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
100%
Overall
80%

Chris van Schoor wrote on 31/01/2012:
GREAT RADIO SYSTEM, LET DOWN BY SOFTWARE NIGGLES
Strengths: Everything noted below by other testers. Really love using the radio at the slope.
Weaknesses: Software update system very poor: the update software does not even remove the "old" software on the update module: you are required to do this yourself! Updates also result in all receivers losing thier bindig with the radio, so you have to re-bind every model you have. Then re-check all settings on every plane, as some functions become reversed or changed in other ways. To add insult to injury, you are required to purchase the update module unit seperately. It's only $20 or so, but why isn't it included with the radio? "Minima" and "ordinary" receivers need a totally different binding procedure: another PITA. Used to have an active "lost signal" telemetry (Hitec dispute this every existed, but it sure did), this was suddenly removed in an update. Was a great feature, but Hitec are obiviously having problems in suporting both "telemetry" and "non telemetry" receiver ranges, so have dropped it. It all leaves a bad taste in the mouth.... I am just hoping and praying that I never need to go through an update procedure again...
Overall: Fantastic to program, very user-friendly radio. I lioved it to bits before i had to update the software becauae i bought a "Minima" receiver and it didn't work with my older version of software. Very poor updating design / system. I cannot recommend for that reason.
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
60%
Overall
60%

flyer24 wrote on 18/01/2012:
EXCELLENT VALUE FOR MONEY
Strengths: Touch screen, ease of programming, can use Lipo's, all switches assignable.
Weaknesses: Have had the Transmitter for 8mths and have found nothing to complain about.
Overall: Excellent radio with a quality feel. The receivers are sensibly priced and the Telemetry works well.
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
100%
Overall
80%

TheFlyingCrust wrote on 17/01/2012:
AN EXCELLENT PIECE OF KIT FOR THE MONEY.
Strengths: Intuitive programming. Comfortable to handle. Ease of use.
Weaknesses: Screen not easy to glance at when flying. Strap hook not at balance point.
Overall: Very good value. The programming is very intuitive. At the price you'd struggle to do better.
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
100%
Overall
80%

Teepee wrote on 25/05/2011:
EXCELLENT
Strengths: It can be set up as simply or as complex as your model requirements are. If you have older Hitec radios then the menu structure is easy to follow.
Weaknesses: The manual tries to be all things to all men. I cut mine up into separate pages so I could put the bits I wanted / needed together. ith all of the newer radios my main complaint is the location of the screen at the bottom. The Eclipse was much better at the top where it could be seen at a glance.
Overall: I find the radio excellent. I have three models already on the set and these range from a Topflite Mustang through a scale DeHavilland Hornet Moth to a "stick".
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
100%
Overall
80%

NIGEL CASTLE wrote on 22/05/2011:
EASY TO USE
Strengths: very easy to program new models
Weaknesses: standard supplied battery Screen power drain
Overall: Best bit of kit I've owned
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
100%
Overall
80%

Ed Griffiths wrote on 10/05/2011:
WELL SATISFIED
Strengths: Touch screen, along with the amazing number of features for programming, and ease of programming. Throttle stick timer is a big plus, especially for electric gliders - not available on my JR 9X2. Suspicious at first about the single aerial Rx, I have 3 Rxs in all, but none have missed a beat after a reasonable amount of flying.
Weaknesses: External wire from the module - like Spectrum used to be - is a bit old fashioned, it spoils the look of the Tx but is not too obtrusive.
Overall: Very good value and in many ways it points the way forward with the touch screen and ease of use of the features. Use it in my 'best planes'.
Ease of assembly
0%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
100%
Overall
60%

Misha wrote on 19/02/2010:
Ease of assembly
100%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
100%
Overall
80%

lemonitart wrote on 20/12/2009:
THE NEXT STEP IN RADIO
Strengths: Cost, this quality of radio at a very affordable price. perfectly balanced in your hands, super smooth stick movement, easy programming unlimited switch/channel assigning is inspired, set it up as you want it.
Weaknesses: my charger came with a futaba type plug which didnt fit my transmitter socket. instructions repeat themselves in different sections.small capacity battery, screen uses a lot of power. all small things but bugs anyway.
Overall: So far after a couple of weeks use it is very easy to use I love the way i can set up the programming to suit my style of flying.
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
100%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
100%
Overall
80%

LAN wrote on 16/12/2009:
VERY COMPTETENT RADIO AT A BARGAIN PRICE
Strengths: Nice quality feel. Superb display with big letters and symbols. Very easy to program thanks to touch screen and intuitive interface.
Weaknesses: Needs a balancer if you want to use it with a neckstrap (should have been included). The switches are not up to the high quality feel of the rest of the radio. The receiver antenna is somewhat difficult to mount in smaller planes.
Overall: I have been using this radio for well over a month now and it's easily the nicest radio I have owned. The radio link seems rock solid, and the linking is instant. It has a nice quality feeling to it, and the gimbals have ball bearings that makes them very smooth. Programming is very easy and also very powerful because of flexible channel assignments amongst other things. The telemetry options looks like it's gonna be interesting but we will have to wait a few months for those accessories to be available. For now, I am happy to be able to check receiver voltage directly on my radio screen, as this functionality is built in. Note that the cable between the module and the antenna is routed on the outside, but thanks to it's stiffness and adapted length this does not bother me. Hitec is on to a winner with this one. Just give us a few more receiver options (light-weight and/or with other antennas).
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
100%
Overall
80%

Support Our Partners
TJD Models
Gliders Distribution
MHS
BMFA
Advertise With Us
CML
PuffinModels
Airtekhobbies
Braincube Aeromodels
New Poll - what's the main R/C brand you use (2014)?
Q: New Poll - what's the main R/C brand you use (2014)?

 Multiplex
 Hitec
 Futaba
 Spektrum
 Jamara
 Graupner SJ
 JR
 FrSky Taranis
 Planet
 Jeti
 Turnigy
 Discontinued brands - Fleet, Sanwa etc.
 Other

Latest "For Sale" Ads
Latest Reviews
Digital Back Issues

RCM&E Digital Back Issues