By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more

Multiplex TwinStar II (2005 onwards)

Manufacturer: Multiplex

Find more products by Multiplex

Average Rating
No. of Reviews17
RRPN/A

Rolebama wrote on 06/06/2014:
BRILLIANT
Strengths: Physical strength of the thing. Took five minutes to sort it after quite a heavy impact with the ground. Wing retaining bolts snapped and grazing of the foam was the only damage.
Weaknesses: None, although I did upgrade to outrunners and 9" props.
Overall: Excellent.
Ease of assembly
100%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
100%
Overall
80%

robert feltham wrote on 25/02/2013:
SUPERB FLYER
Strengths: Almost unstallable.
Weaknesses: Motor mounts.Not strong.
Overall: Using low power brushless set up (200w) very good duration 25+ minutes and can still carry gopro without too much trouble.
Ease of assembly
60%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
60%
Overall
60%

Djay wrote on 09/01/2012:
BRILLIANT
Strengths: tough, goes forever, easy to fly, good size
Weaknesses: needs brushless to bring out the best in it
Overall: 4 years and still going strong, fitted 2 brushless motors and it went vertical and tore out the engine mounts, had to reduce throttles to 50 % to tame it, claps its wings together if you pull up hard, good fun. made a plug in trike u/c and gives greater versatility, especially for touch and goes. just keeps going, easy to fly as a first trainer , cheap. just get one you will not be disapponted, anything multiplex is good.
Ease of assembly
100%
Build quality
100%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
100%
Overall
100%

Andy Butler wrote on 11/07/2011:
SOLID AND DEPENDABLE
Strengths: High quality mouldings, super easy assembly and practically everything you need is in the box
Overall: The exclusive use of cyano led to a couple of heartstopping moments but overall easy to build and fly. Lots of fun too.
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
80%
Overall
80%

John Falconer wrote on 30/03/2011:
SOLID WORKHORSE
Strengths: Robust easy-fly trainer. Repairable and damage resistant. Novelty of twin engines without undue complexity.
Weaknesses: Original brushed motors underpowered. I converted to a 300W brushless setup.
Overall: I use it as a camera ship with a Flycam v3. Twin motors allow good forward view. There is lots of potential to modify: I have added detachable, steerable undercarriage and plan to make detachable floats. Tail feathers are not glued but attached by plastic bolts to captive nuts for easy replacement. Easy to fly with potential for basic aerobatics.
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
100%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
100%
Overall
80%

twinstar wrote on 15/06/2010:
A FUN FOAMY
Strengths: quick build, goos instructions. German quality. easy to paint. flies well on the stock setup
Weaknesses: as with all multiplex foam models is rather prone to hangar rash
Overall: a really fun model that youll fly again and again. For such a beefy looking model its surprisingly aerobatic with uprated throws. Brushless upgrade is possible but not really necessary.
Ease of assembly
100%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
60%
Overall
80%

P J Hearne wrote on 09/09/2009:
THE 'PICK UP TRUCK OF ELECTRIC AIRCRAFT
Strengths: Great battery access / Good looks / A low cost Trainer with a Future.
Weaknesses: Not the most aerobatic for a begginer.
Overall: It is my one and only model aircraft / I chose it carefully to suit my particular needs
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
60%
Value for money
100%
Overall
80%

TaZ wrote on 02/04/2009:
GREAT FUN
Strengths: easy build and strong !
Weaknesses: None really !
Overall: Fitted 2 B/less inrunners from BRC and it is fast but also glides with some wind,
Ease of assembly
100%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
80%
Overall
80%

MEL wrote on 12/04/2008:
EASY TO BUILD MY NO2 PLANE AELERON TRAINER
Strengths: stable easy to fly damage easily repaired bounces well will run quite well on a 3cell lipo
Weaknesses: cockpit clips week esp after a fiew ejection,s wing brackets dont work very well wing,s do tend to seperate
Overall: not a bad first or second flyer would do well on an upgrade brushless/lipo set a single wing would be an advantage
Ease of assembly
60%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
100%
Overall
60%

Peter Davidson wrote on 06/04/2008:
ONLY MY SECOND PLANE, BUT FOR ME IT'S GREAT
Strengths: ease of build, strength, looks in the air, flying stability i could go on.
Weaknesses: Wing holddown bolts and cross piece. It does not allow the wings to come together.
Overall: If the wing stay on as i'm sure they will it is a beautiful plane
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
80%
Overall
80%

andrew brasier wrote on 04/12/2007:
GREAT FOR CHUCKING IN THE CAR
Strengths: easy to fly very forgiving easy to build
Weaknesses: c of g problems,standard power set a bit slow,and wing joining system a bit of a fiddle
Overall: great plane good value for money but go for radio ready version
Ease of assembly
60%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
60%
Value for money
60%
Overall
60%

Chris Bell wrote on 18/10/2007:
WHAT A GREAT BUY !
Strengths: Easy to build great to fly Cheap
Weaknesses: Wing joiner clippy bolt thing is very filldly
Overall: Bought this for the wife - but i've probably nicked it more times to fly myslef its great fun.
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
100%
Overall
80%

Tazz wrote on 08/09/2007:
TRULY GREAT DESIGN
Strengths: The Twinstar II is a great design which will appeal to all levels of skill. I have seen expert pilots do things with my brushless TSII you cannot believe
Weaknesses: none really. Just glue the wings for ease of use.
Overall: I have had two twinstars I and II. They are both great. The first I had for four years with the 400 motors and NIMH cells. I gave it to a friend and he still flies it!!! The twinstar II flies great with two brushless motors (2 ESC's). I land on bare ground with stones!, on the beach and on concrete. I have, like most of my foamies, painted the vulnerable areas with Flexicote from Ripmax and find that it sdheres well and really gives added protection to the foam. I also use thick transparent tape on the bottom of the fuselage and change that when it becomes grubby.
Ease of assembly
100%
Build quality
100%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
100%
Overall
80%

Mike Stevens wrote on 20/02/2007:
EXCELLENT BEGINNERS MODEL
Strengths: Easy construction, stable to fly and proven design.
Weaknesses: Cockpit cover clips - get some spares or modify
Overall: This was my first R/c model 'build' and my re-introduction to aeromodelling after about 35 years. The aircraft is so easy to fly that I was able to solo on my first flight with a tutor beside me. Although I has some initial problems with the speed contol cutting out these have now be resolved. Well recommended.
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
100%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
80%
Overall
80%

David Ashby - RCME wrote on 17/02/2007:
A CLASSIC
Strengths: Easy build, robust, easy to fly,quite aerobatic now even on the stock motors
Weaknesses: it's a foamie at the end of the day...
Overall: A great mulit-purpose hack
Ease of assembly
60%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
80%
Overall
60%

YakMad wrote on 16/02/2007:
MUCH IMPROVED OVER TWINSTAR 1
Strengths: Straight forward and quick build, easy to fit brushless motors.
Weaknesses: Wing Joining system a bit flexible if you use brushless motors. I would recommend that the wings be glued together.
Overall: No bad habits can be flown around very gently close in or if fitted with brushless motos and lipo's behave more like aerobatic sports model, about the only thing it does not do well is knife edge flight. Will also take off the ground with higher power system and fly for about 25 minutes on a 2200 mah 3s lipo as half power is plenty.
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
100%
Overall
80%

Gurth Scriven 2 wrote on 15/02/2007:
NICE EVERYDAY HACK.
Strengths: Strong, predictable, can be flown in tight spaces, easy singlehanded hand launch. Especially if flown with NiMH cells TS2 has enough enertia to handle turbulent windy weather.
Weaknesses: Despite the above the TS2 needs a lot of space to land, fast flat approach. Best leave assembled, bit of a fiddle to get wing on and all the wiring etc. in place at the field.
Overall: Very likeable, easy build and fly, usually finds it's way into the car when I go flying.
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
60%
Value for money
60%
Overall
60%

Support Our Partners
TJD Models
Gliders Distribution
BMFA
CML
Airtekhobbies
PuffinModels
Advertise With Us
MHS
New Poll - do you always stick to your TX maker's Rxs?
Q: New Poll - do you always stick to your TX maker's Rxs?

 Yes, always
 Sometimes
 Rarely
 No, they're too expensive
 No, they dont make what I want

Latest "For Sale" Ads
Latest Reviews
Digital Back Issues

RCM&E Digital Back Issues