By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more

WOT 4 Foam-E Mk.2

Manufacturer: Ripmax

Find more products by Ripmax

Average Rating
No. of Reviews15
RRPN/A

Nightflyer 2013 wrote on 23/03/2017:
GREAT FUN MODEL
Strengths: The model flies really well and can be slow and steady and yet can be a fun aerobat. Like how easily the model went together, and easy access to battery pack.
Weaknesses: Pure fiction if you expect to complete the model in 30 minutes! An hour or two is more realistic. I had been told beforehand by three other Wot 4 owners that I would need to use some up elevator trim for it to fly right - AND they were right. Everything else needed no other trim adjustment.
Overall: Other than highlighted this model is a delight to fly. Do not be tempted to put higher capacity heavier cells as if standard 2200's need up trim, larger will need even more.
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
60%
Overall
60%

Andrew767 wrote on 19/09/2014:
BETTER THAN EXPECTED
Strengths: Quick assembly (excluding the stickers).Easy to fly for intermediates.Small enough to keep fully assembled to bung in the car boot.Robust and takes a few knocks.
Weaknesses: Instructions to fit the stickers, not the best.
Overall: Bit late buying one of these but having read the reviews it's better than i thought.Maybe it's been updated but i've had no trouble with undercarriage, even in heavy landings. Mine pulls 370watts so no power shortage and has the makings of a great winter hack.
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
100%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
100%
Overall
80%

David... wrote on 17/02/2014:
GREAT ALL -ROUNDER
Strengths: Undercarriage aside quite strong and durable.
Weaknesses: Undercarriage become lose, motor mount becomes lose, prop shaft can bend in any landing that hits the spinner.
Overall: Brilliant flier and excellent for aerobatics. Easy to fly and stable for intermediate fliers. Overall I think it's great and will buy another this coming summer, my last gave up after I crashed it when a dog knocked me over at our local flying field - not happy but what can I do! I have a Maxthrust Riot too and that feels a bit of a heavy weight and lumbering by comparison.
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
80%
Overall
80%

Stevo wrote on 15/02/2014:
WORTH THE MONEY
Strengths: Mine went on and on and on.. Flies nice but dont take it up in high wind!
Weaknesses: Nice and stable, but NOT in a cross wind. The U/C rips out time after time, replace with a dowel / rubber band solution. The motor mount comes loose, and constantly needs gluing back in. The motor shaft breaks in the blink of an eye. The ESC burns out so replace immediately!
Overall: I'm glad I had one, it did me well. Watch for the motor mount, it needs gluing back in every so often. U/C mount is WEAK!!!
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
40%
Flight performance
60%
Value for money
60%
Overall
60%

Rich2 wrote on 18/08/2012:
COMPACT AND CONVENIENT
Strengths: Great 2nd plane, aerobatic trainer (the use i've put mine to). convenient flying, i leave mine assembled at all times - just charge and go. 20 min flight times.
Weaknesses: none really, ok, its foam and the undercarriage is weak/small. i removed mine for hand launching and belly landings.
Overall: superb out of the box (i've not touched anything on mine yet). difficult to beat as a hack. flies well on all conditions. everyone should have one!
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
80%
Overall
80%

Dave Robertson wrote on 06/04/2012:
REASONABLY GOOD VALUE
Strengths: Ease of assembly
Weaknesses: "NEW"ESC burnt out after 2 hours flight. Poor Under Carriage design, useless on grass strips. Weak hinges on all control surfaces.
Overall: Great fun to fly.
Ease of assembly
60%
Build quality
40%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
60%
Overall
60%

Victor Saliba wrote on 03/05/2011:
EXCELLENT 1ST TIME IN ELECTRICS
Strengths: Model was put together in less than 30 mins, powerfull motor and well balanced. It's a Wot 4 after all.
Weaknesses: I found no weaknesses in this model.
Overall: This is a true RTF, plug and play. I'm a Wot fanatic and this is my 1st electric model, very impressed. The 3S 2200 battery gives about 13 mins of pleasure without having to clean it up afetr 4 flights.
Ease of assembly
100%
Build quality
100%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
100%
Overall
100%

brian fearnley wrote on 02/05/2011:
GREAT SPORT PLANE
Strengths: I must have a different model to other reviewers, had no problems (or any of the other 4 being flown on our patch)great fun model
Weaknesses: If your are really clumsy tail bracket and back up elevator hinges with tape to be sure
Overall: really cannot fault it great fun flies in almost any conditions- mine needed a lot of tail weight to make it really sharp
Ease of assembly
60%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
80%
Overall
60%

Steve W-O wrote on 11/03/2011:
GOOD CONCEPT, SPOILT BY POOR QUALITY
Strengths: Great idea
Weaknesses: Very poor quality, had to repair rudder and elevator, fit new servos, ESC and motor BEFORE flying. Wing tip had been broken and repair attempted at the factory. No response or help from dealer.
Overall: Would recommend if they could get the quality and service improved, otherwise it turns out rather expensive.
Ease of assembly
60%
Build quality
20%
Flight performance
60%
Value for money
40%
Overall
40%

Burnsmoker wrote on 08/03/2011:
EXCELLENT FUN FLYER -BUT!
Strengths: Flies well.
Weaknesses: The decals supplied are too similar above and below wing making orientation difficult. Empennage retaining screw wouldn't take up so captive nut had to be re-tapped. Foam tongue at base of fin which fits into plastic control shoe is stupidly flimsy. Plastic moulding which retains u/c is too flimsy and won't stand a hard landing. My ESC fried on first flight causing a crash. ESC and fuz replaced by Ripmax.
Overall: A great plane spoiled by poor design.
Ease of assembly
40%
Build quality
20%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
60%
Overall
40%

Robert Ayres wrote on 14/11/2010:
EXCELLENT FOAM-E
Strengths: Quality, Looks, Quick build, Strong.
Weaknesses: Extra 20g need at the rear.
Overall: Good trainer, intermediate and expert alike. Nice power to weight combo.
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
100%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
100%
Overall
80%

Toby Mack wrote on 13/11/2010:
GREAT!
Strengths: Easy to fly (I'm using it for my A cert). Good value. Generally well thought out.
Weaknesses: Tail feels a bit flimsy although I have yet to damage it. Airflow in battery area is poor - hot esc and battery until I made a simple fix. tail wheel mount flimsy, mine also came bent but it has worked ok so far. Small wheels and light weight means it noses over easily on wet grass. Larger wheels help a lot.
Overall: A great plane. With rates set as the manual I find it fine for practising for my A cert but will not get boring as I get better. Generally feels robust apart from the tail wheel although I have not yet done anything worse than "land" in long grass. Another review states 215W. I get around 300W with an APC-E 11x7 which is close to the rated current of the esc but I have no problem now I have repositioned the ESC and added a reverse scoop to extract air from the battery area.
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
80%
Overall
60%

Bob Cotsford wrote on 11/10/2010:
GOOD BASIC AIRFRAME LET DOWN BY POOR ELECTRONIS
Strengths: flies well, easy to assemble, good finish
Weaknesses: very variable quality power train, the esc self-immolated on the first flight
Overall: A fast way to get in the air at a reasonable price, just needs a battery and RX (in principle), but in reality check the current drawn with a wattmeter and replace either the esc to cope with the supplied prop or the prop to match the 30A supplied esc
Ease of assembly
100%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
60%
Overall
60%

Allan Bowker wrote on 03/10/2010:
ALL THAT YOU EXPECT FROM A WOT4
Strengths: Sensible price, easy to build, easy to fly and quite robust for a foam model. Good build manual. Everything you would expect from a WOT 4, a very capable model.
Weaknesses: Beware of the quality of ESC and servo's supplied. May be better to fit your own. I have had a failed aileron servo on its second flight and have seen 2 reports of smoking ESC's. Tail wheel hinge could be a weak spot, keep an eye on it. Personally I would prefer more throw on the elevator. Stickers may start to peel over time. Stock motor is enough power but not immense, just enough to keep the smile on your face.
Overall: All up weight: 1097g (inc. 3S 2200mAh Li-Po & AR500 receiver) Static power: 215watts @ 19amps (average) The maiden flight went without a hitch and the CG seems to be about right as indicated in the manual. Stickers could do with numbering and mapping them on the plan. A bit of trial and error was required to find their exact position. The bottom blue sticker would have been better to put on first and to the the cowl as a guide as to how high the side blue stickers should be positioned.
Ease of assembly
60%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
60%
Overall
60%

Slatts wrote on 31/08/2010:
EXCELLENT
Strengths: Very well thought-out and well engineered.
Weaknesses: Nothing really, I had to fit larger wheels for my grass flying patch. A bit floaty, doesn't penetrate a breeze too well.
Overall: Flys very well, use low rates initially. Climbs away on half throttle. Very light, glides well and even soars!
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
60%
Value for money
80%
Overall
60%

Email News - Join our newsletter

Love Model Aircraft? Sign up to our emails for the latest news and special offers!

Latest Forum Posts
Support Our Partners
SHREK
CML
Skip Model April
Gliders Distribution
TJD Models
Overlander
Advertise With Us
Latest "For Sale" Ads
How many plan-built models have you made or started in the last year?
Q: How many plan-built models have you made or started in the last year?

 0
 1
 2
 3
 4
 5
 5 to 10
 10+
 15+
 20+

Latest Reviews
Digital Back Issues

RCM&E Digital Back Issues

Contact us

Contact us