By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more

ASP four-stroke engines (please state size)

Manufacturer: ASP

Find more products by ASP

Average Rating
No. of Reviews16
RRPN/A

Description: OHV single-cylinder four-stroke, two valves, steel liner with single ringed alloy piston. Includes silencer. Distributed by Just Engines.


FlyinBrian wrote on 16/12/2016:
ASP 91 LOVELY ENGINE
Strengths: Ease of starting and reliability
Weaknesses: None really
Overall: Very pleased, excellent engine for the price, seems equal to an OS 91 I had in the same model.
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
100%
Overall
80%

Glyn R wrote on 24/01/2014:
61FS
Strengths: Easy starting , good power output. Quiet running. Turns 12X6 @10000rpm
Weaknesses: Removing the throttle lever entails removing the slow running assembly. Not difficult to do but fiddly. Does not burn its own crankcase oil like the FS91 version.
Overall: A super engine. My first four stroke. Well worth the money
Ease of assembly
100%
Build quality
100%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
100%
Overall
80%

MikeS wrote on 27/03/2013:
GOT THREE AND ALL GOOD
Strengths: Good engine for the price and great support.
Weaknesses: None I can think of
Overall: Great engines, my 70 fs pulls my Pawnne around and is yet to dead stick on me. Easy to run in and setup. Easy to take apart and replace parts should have the need.
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
100%
Overall
80%

The Gineral wrote on 12/07/2012:
52FS
Strengths: starting
Weaknesses: none yet after 5 hours
Overall: great little engine.good value for money-a little down on power.
Ease of assembly
60%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
60%
Value for money
80%
Overall
60%

Gary Eyre wrote on 28/06/2012:
ASP30 AND 60 -GREAT ENGINES
Strengths: good value
Weaknesses: nil
Overall: would recommend
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
80%
Overall
80%

Steve Hargreaves - Moderator wrote on 22/06/2012:
GREAT ENGINES & GOOD BACK UP FROM JUST ENGINES
Strengths: ASP61 & ASP70 Good quality, well built. Easy to start & very reliable. Low price
Weaknesses: Maybe not quite up to OS standards but not so far behind as the price difference might suggest
Overall: Great engines. They do everything an engine should at a bargain price. The ASP61 is actually a big bore 52 & shares the 52's crank case. Useful if your 52 sized model needs a bit of extra oomph
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
100%
Overall
80%

Dennis Jones wrote on 16/05/2012:
Strengths: Good cheap reliable
Weaknesses: none
Overall: I have the 61 91 120 160 180, all run great hardly use fuel, mine all came from Just Engines so the back up service is great,they are so reliable almost a fit and forget engine
Ease of assembly
0%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
80%
Overall
60%

Martin Harris wrote on 01/11/2011:
ASP 160 TWIN - MY FAVOURITE ENGINE!
Strengths: Smooooooothest engine ever! Good performance Easy starting
Weaknesses: Rather sensitive on the main needle - but this may relate to back pressure from my very effective home made siamesed (or should that be conjoined?) silencing system
Overall: I'm running this engine in a 1/4 scale Cub using a "scale" 18 x 6 prop which it suits ideally. A few intermittent "problems" were traced to a dodgy throttle servo and so I can now say that it has behaved impeccably. It is an obvious copy of the OS Gemini and time will tell for its longevity but so far I would recommend it with absolutely no reservations. I'm just waiting for the day that ASP/SC produce a Pegasus copy!
Ease of assembly
100%
Build quality
100%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
80%
Overall
80%

Reno Racer wrote on 24/10/2011:
GREAT RELIABLE ENGINES, WHY BUY OS?
Strengths: Great quality and super reliability and a fantatsic price. I have the ASP 61 FS and 91FS, both run like an old sewing machine, once properly broken in, I've never had an issue, Both 61 and 91 deliver good power. My 61 hits 10500 rpm on a 12x6 MA and 91 delivers 9750 on a 13x6 3 blade MA (9Lbs static thrust).
Weaknesses: Can be a bit leaky, so check all bolts on carb, rocker cover etc.
Overall: My 2 best and favorite models (Pulse XT 40 and H9 Corsair)- I trust both to an ASP 4 stroke without issue.
Ease of assembly
100%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
100%
Overall
80%

Les Littleton wrote on 26/07/2011:
GREAT ENGINE 61 FS
Strengths: easy starting and very reliable
Weaknesses: none so far
Overall: Very pleased with this engine from day one . fitted in pc9 in dec 09 and very well flown without one dead stick , great little engine
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
100%
Overall
80%

Bob Cotsford wrote on 20/07/2011:
ASP FS120AR - GOOD RELIABLE ENGINES AT A BUDGET PRICE
Strengths: Easy starters, good idle, all three engines I have produce the same rpm within 100 of 8,700 on a 15*8 prop. The quality seems to be consistent across the three units which were bought over a period of years.
Weaknesses: none so far
Overall: Good value, maybe not as powerful as OS or Saito, but a good deal cheaper to buy
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
80%
Overall
80%

Lee Smalley wrote on 30/09/2010:
ASP 70 GREAT PRICE GOOD ENGINE
Strengths: starts very easy
Weaknesses: casting quality, but its inside a cowl so who cares
Overall: really good price for a very reliable if not the most powerful engine in the world
Ease of assembly
60%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
100%
Overall
60%

Biggestgerbil wrote on 30/09/2010:
GREAT VFM 52 - 180
Strengths: Always starts easily, economical.
Weaknesses: Slightly heavier than some others in class
Overall: With Just Engines after sales service to back them up this range of engies is a winner. All my ASP FS start easily and run well. Have been using them for about five years since I was given an old 52FS with no compression. It is in a Super 60 and stills does the buisness.
Ease of assembly
0%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
100%
Overall
60%

Colin Leighfield wrote on 06/12/2008:
CAN'T FAULT IT.
Strengths: Easy to start, controllable and reliable over the whole rpm range, very well made.
Weaknesses: Haven't found any.
Overall: Not expensive for what it is and does everything I want.
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
80%
Overall
80%

Djay wrote on 03/12/2008:
BRILLIANT
Strengths: Reliability, fuel economy, price,
Weaknesses: Box was to small for the engine, so looked cheap upon arrival.
Overall: Ran straight out of the box and has not missed a beat flying my Hannibal in 50 degress c heat . Hardly uses any fuel, sounds fantastic. true value for money
Ease of assembly
100%
Build quality
100%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
100%
Overall
100%

YakMad wrote on 24/09/2007:
GOOD VALUE 30 CC ENGINE
Strengths: Starts and runs well and fuel efficent for it size. Will turn big props.
Weaknesses: Not really a performance engine more suited to a scale model rather than aerobatic, alot of vibration
Overall: Good value for scale models look elsewhere for performance.
Ease of assembly
60%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
60%
Value for money
60%
Overall
60%

Magazine Locator

Want the latest issue of RCM&E? Use our magazine locator link to find your nearest stockist!

Find RCM&E! 

Email News - Join our newsletter

Love Model Aircraft? Sign up to our emails for the latest news and special offers!

Latest Forum Posts
Support Our Partners
Overlander
TJD Models
SHREK
CML
Gliders Distribution
Expo Tools 14 July
Advertise With Us
Latest "For Sale" Ads
How has your building graduated?
Q: Did you start with ARTF and move to building from kits or vice versa?

 Started with ARTF moved to building from kits only
 Started with ARTF moved to building from plans only
 Started with ARTF moved to building from kits and building from plans
 Started with building kits or from plans and moved to ARTF
 I only build from kits or plans
 I only build ARTF
 I only build from kits
 I only build from plans
 Other (Please specify in thread)

Latest Reviews
Digital Back Issues

RCM&E Digital Back Issues

Contact us

Contact us