By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more

WOT4

Manufacturer: Chris Foss

Find more products by Chris Foss

Average Rating
No. of Reviews27
RRPN/A

ERIC DODSWORTH wrote on 16/12/2017:
IT'S OK
Strengths: tough fly when most models are grounded
Weaknesses: imperial measurements very basic shapeing all the intricate cutting has to be done by the builder no plan
Overall: good as a trainer better nodels out there
Ease of assembly
60%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
40%
Overall
60%

Nightflyer wrote on 11/01/2013:
FOR OVER 30 YEARS HAS SET THE BENCHMARK.
Strengths: Typical wood and foam veneer wing construction. This model is easy to build for anyone with a couple of models build experience. The finished model flies very well.
Weaknesses: May look a little dated nowadays with its 'retro 70's' looks but its flying capabilities more than compensate.
Overall: I have built and flown more than one of these since the Mk1! The model flies great and will be around for years to come. When flying it can be docile or can provide hours of aerobatic pleasure. I am sure I will still build another at some point again.
Ease of assembly
60%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
60%
Overall
60%

Djay wrote on 09/01/2012:
BRILLIANT FUN
Strengths: size, tough, manouverable, slow flying, fast flying, rough field suitability, excells in all areas
Weaknesses: not enough time in a week to keep flying it
Overall: a superb club flyer, mine has an RCV 58 in it, and the slow flying aerobatic qualaties are outstanding, as are the high speed manouvers, as tough as old boots, recently crashed mine after 8 years of flying, just cut of the fuse from the wing T/E fwd and cut new sides, made a new front and grafted it on, flies as well as ever. Everyone should build one of these, build is very simple
Ease of assembly
100%
Build quality
100%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
100%
Overall
100%

Andrew Jarvis 1 wrote on 21/01/2011:
SUPERB HACK MODEL
Strengths: Extremely versitile aircraft.
Weaknesses: I wish Chris Foss would stop putting those useless plastic snap links in the kits, these are not really suitable for this type of model, decent metal ones are not expensive. The kit is quite expensive when you consider that the ARTF version is sub £100, however the kit version if built well will (baring a major mishap) long out live the awfull ARTF version.
Overall: I am currently building my 4th Wot4, first one was in the mid 80's. Highly versitile model that really doesn't need a big motor, my previous one was more than adequatly powered by a Saito 56, the one I am currently building will get a Saito 62a. Just a comment on Jeff Weston review, hinges coming loose is not a weekness in the model it is due to them not being installed, glued and pegged properly, builder error.
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
60%
Overall
60%

Richard Wood wrote on 11/11/2009:
STILL A GREAT MODEL AFTER OVER 30 YEARS.
Strengths: Quirky good looks. Beautifully engineered & presented kit which builds quickly. The best instructions you'll ever find. .46 equivalent electric conversion gives superb aerobatic capability & vertical performance - my flying skills don't do it justice! It can fly in nearly all weathers - great to hover in a wind.
Weaknesses: Ironically the new ARTF is a lot cheaper, but I'd much rather pay the extra for the sheer pleasure of building a real one! The Wot4 has been plagiarized over the years so, understandably, no plan is included.
Overall: A lovely aeroplane - an all round superb builder's & flyer's model.
Ease of assembly
100%
Build quality
100%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
100%
Overall
100%

Olly Giles wrote on 22/06/2009:
FANTASTIC- THE STAPLE OF AEROMODELERS FOR A GENERATION
Strengths: Great to fly, quick to build, tough as nails.
Weaknesses: The WOT4 Wiggle-a little wag of the tail while at high speed
Overall: great have had 3 cant fault them and they will fly on a huge range of engines.
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
100%
Overall
80%

Jeff Weston wrote on 19/09/2008:
NOT GOOD
Strengths: looks nice
Weaknesses: aeilerons came loose on mine and it met the river mersey
Overall: i would not buy one of these planes again
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
20%
Value for money
40%
Overall
40%

Diamond Geezer wrote on 14/09/2008:
FAB PLANE
Overall: really great plane
Ease of assembly
60%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
80%
Overall
60%

Paul Moore wrote on 11/09/2008:
SUPER
Strengths: Can fly fast or really slow, solid construction. Great sports model.
Weaknesses: Heavy, compared to most ARTF's today and expensive to buy the kit, then cover it as well.
Overall: Super model. Good for learning balsa bashing skills and for progressing your flying skills too.
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
40%
Overall
60%

Bruce Richards wrote on 03/09/2008:
GREAT
Strengths: Easy to rebuild when you crash it as I have several times and my son has several times. I have built 2 from scratch, rebuilt one I was given, Rebuilt my own 3 time and just finished rebuilding my son's
Weaknesses: U/C fixing point needs strengthening but one done it will last
Overall: Last time I crashed my one I rebuilt it when I flew it it did not feel right so I tried to sell it at Wings and Wheels Bring and Bye. It did not sell so I flew it last week and it felt fantastic I fell in love with it again and I am using it to practice for my 'B' certificate.
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
60%
Overall
80%

GrumpyGnome wrote on 13/08/2008:
FANTASTIC PLANE - EVERYONE SHOULD HAVE ONE :-)
Strengths: Rugged Handles just about any weather conditions Excellent flyer Excellent slow speed handling/landing
Weaknesses: Undercarriage fixing - that's about it !
Overall: Good quality kit; decent, satisfying build although instructions could be a bit better. Fabulous flying characteristics on wide range of power plants. Very forgiving so great as a second /third machine. It's my 'old faithful' !
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
60%
Overall
80%

Dennis Jones wrote on 09/08/2008:
GREAT FLYING WELL DESIGNED
Strengths: Build it right and light
Weaknesses: firewall is only strong enough for 40to50 2stroke 56 4stroke
Overall: I'm on my 7th in 18 years that should say something about it
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
60%
Overall
80%

Charlie wrote on 19/04/2008:
BRILLIANT DESIGN
Strengths: Excellent for first aileron plane. Excellent for "B"Certificate.
Weaknesses: I haven't found any.
Overall: I have had a Unowot and am saving for an Extra Wot and I have just bought a Wot trainer for my grandsons. Guess who my favourite designer is!
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
100%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
60%
Overall
80%

Richard Kirk wrote on 18/04/2008:
VERY, VERY GOOD
Overall: The oldest plane I own. It's been pranged and fixed, and pranged and fixed, etc. Best plane I've ever owned.
Ease of assembly
60%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
60%
Overall
60%

David Monk wrote on 14/04/2008:
EXCELLENT
Strengths: Quite straightforward to build and as the wings are ready built (mostly) that greatly reduces the time taken. Flies very well, versatile and easy to land. I built the classic version which is very manouverable. Seems to be very strong and able to withstand knocks. I crashed mine into the leg of a table on landing(!)but it was in the air again in a couple of days.Seems quite aerobatic - I'm still learning and its still more capable than me! I've fitted mine with a Saito 62 and it has lots of go.
Weaknesses: I did have some problems with splitting veneer on the wings but I think that was because I left them in a garage which was very humid due to a previous flood. I'm sure if they had been kept somewhere drier they would have been alright. I fitted a steerable tail wheel with a rubber band linkage as shown on the plan. This was not good as the plane veered all over the field on my first take off. I epoxied it up solidly and have had no problem since.Maybe a bit expensive
Overall: Absolutely excellent, perfect plane to grab for a quick trip to the field. I suppose it might not satisfy the most aerobatic pilots but I think its great fun.
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
60%
Overall
60%

leonard Hunt wrote on 09/04/2008:
GREAT MODEL
Strengths: All weather flyer
Weaknesses: can't think of any
Overall: very good
Ease of assembly
60%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
60%
Overall
60%

Nick Prescott wrote on 04/04/2008:
GREAT FUN, SOLID AIRCRAFT - DON'T LET IT GET TOO HEAVY!
Strengths: Very versatile - I built it with all the options - wide chord ailerons, airbrakes etc.
Weaknesses: With all the options and too large a motor it gets heavy - not the model's fault, but definitely to be avoided
Overall: Excellent, just keep the weight down.
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
80%
Overall
80%

BobW wrote on 02/04/2008:
BRILLIANT!
Strengths: Excellent performance in poor weather conditions. Stable, easy and fun to fly
Weaknesses: I'm struggling on this one, difficult to find a weakness. i replaced the cowl with a solid balsa one.
Overall: Excellent flying qualities, very good in windy weather, not that we get much of that:o) Easy to build.
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
80%
Overall
60%

Arash N wrote on 20/03/2008:
NEARLY CRIED WHEN I HAD MID-AIR COLLISION
Strengths: build it yourself if your interested.. easy to fly and rather aerobatic simultaneously.. robust, forgiving, quality of kit,
Weaknesses: build time if your not interested, cowl not superb
Overall: golden.. my first complete build and after my mid-air i couldnt bring my self to build another.. at uni now anyway...
Ease of assembly
100%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
60%
Overall
80%

spanner wrote on 19/03/2008:
OHHH YESSSS
Strengths: easy build, great follow on from a trainer
Weaknesses: does not respond well to pine trees! u/c a bit weak
Overall: Love it, my first build after getting my A. just never enough air time.Sounds so good with a 61 fourstroke.
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
60%
Value for money
60%
Overall
60%

Nick Brotherton wrote on 30/06/2007:
GOOD MODEL EVEN FOR BEGINNERS TO THE HOBBY.
Strengths: Flys well with no vices. Basic design should mean its fairly straight forward to repair when the inevitable happens.
Weaknesses: Instructions are not easy for beginners, they assume to a certain extent that you have built a model before, which is a shame for newcomers as this plane is quite easy to fly. Also a bit pricy when ARTF's are available at prices close to this.
Overall: Recommend it if you can get some help from someone who has building experience.
Ease of assembly
60%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
40%
Overall
60%

Paul Moore wrote on 29/06/2007:
GREAT PLANE AND IF YOU LIKE BUILDING, OK
Strengths: Flight characteristcs, ease of build
Weaknesses: Outdated as Fun Fly has evolved past the WOT 4
Overall: Super for us oldies with time but still Very expensive for a kit these days. Cant fault the flying though
Ease of assembly
60%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
60%
Value for money
40%
Overall
40%

Stevo wrote on 29/06/2007:
A GOOD TIMELESS PIECE, VERY ADAPTABLE
Strengths: Just go ahead and bolt any engine into it... add airbrakes, wide ailerons...What more could you ask?
Weaknesses: Sub-standard wing veneers let it down badly, also bulkheads needed trimming and were also weak. Instructions below average too. Floor needs strengthening where U/C attaches.
Overall: Overall excellent stuff, but let down by some dodgy materials.
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
60%
Overall
60%

Danny Fenton wrote on 29/06/2007:
WATT4
Strengths: Really nice planform, Good balsa selection both weight and strength.If built straight will fly really well. Glides forever, no real vices, and capable of taking a whole range of motors from a 40 to a 90. Flies superbly with a big leccy motor
Weaknesses: Bulkheads are not accurate, wing veneer is badly cracked, not very complete kit, fairly expensive. Instructions not the best.
Overall: I used this model to obtain my "A" and it was perfect. Have now converted it to electric and it is a really nice conversion, it will prop hang and is 1/2 lb lighter than a fully fuelled IC version(plus the C of G stays put). A good model to have for those blustery days or just when you want to fly without any drama.
Ease of assembly
60%
Build quality
40%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
40%
Overall
60%

Marko wrote on 25/06/2007:
FUN EASYBUILD GREAT HACK ALLYEAR ROUND
Strengths: very forgiving you yust cannot get it wrong
Weaknesses: big fat wings supplied grp undercarrage not strong
Overall: a very good all rounder with no bad vices worth every penny!!!
Ease of assembly
60%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
80%
Overall
80%

Roy Holmes wrote on 22/06/2007:
DISAPOINTED
Strengths: Flying
Weaknesses: Wing veneer was truly terrible, spents hours filling all the splits
Overall: Bulkheads were badly fitting, suggest patterns need attention
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
40%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
40%
Overall
60%

David Ashby - RCME wrote on 16/06/2007:
AN AGELESS CLASSIC,
Strengths: Strong! versatile, easy to fly, very aerobatic. It is whatever you want it to be. Traditional building.
Weaknesses: Traditional building. The kit should be updated, instructions not the best
Overall: Poor instructions and a dated kit still don't tarnish an incredible piece of design.
Ease of assembly
60%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
60%
Overall
60%

Magazine Locator

Want the latest issue of RCM&E? Use our magazine locator link to find your nearest stockist!

Find RCM&E! 

Email News - Join our newsletter

Love Model Aircraft? Sign up to our emails for the latest news and special offers!

Latest Forum Posts
Support Our Partners
Wings & Wheels 2018
Slec
Expo Tools 14 July
CML
Airtek Hobbies
Overlander
Gliders Distribution
electricwingman 2017
Sarik
Advertise With Us
Latest "For Sale" Ads
How has your building graduated?
Q: Did you start with ARTF and move to building from kits or vice versa?

 Started with ARTF moved to building from kits only
 Started with ARTF moved to building from plans only
 Started with ARTF moved to building from kits and building from plans
 Started with building kits or from plans and moved to ARTF
 I only build from kits or plans
 I only build ARTF
 I only build from kits
 I only build from plans
 Other (Please specify in thread)

Latest Reviews
Digital Back Issues

RCM&E Digital Back Issues

Contact us

Contact us