By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more

Spektrum DX6i

Manufacturer: Spektrum

Find more products by Spektrum

Average Rating
No. of Reviews38
RRPN/A

Douglas Hughes wrote on 22/01/2018:
EXCELLENT
Strengths: Level entry product albeit somewhat complex to set up.
Weaknesses: Poor quality gimbals.
Overall: Nevertheless, a very capable product which represents great value for money
Ease of assembly
60%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
60%
Value for money
80%
Overall
60%

Jessica Rabbit wrote on 21/01/2015:
A GOOD PLACE TO START.
Strengths: Supports DSMX for BNF models. Can be programmed.
Weaknesses: No 3-way switches or knobs. No back-light for the display.
Overall: An inexpensive programmable transmitter.
Ease of assembly
100%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
60%
Value for money
80%
Overall
60%

Colin Nicholas wrote on 11/05/2011:
LIKE IT FOR NO GLITCHES
Strengths: Easy to programme, light weight and of course model match which has saved at least one plane.
Weaknesses: Twice after a year of use a couple of model memories became corrupted, why?
Overall: I enjoy using it even if it is a bit toy like in build quality. I would like a rotary control for one of the extra channels. I'm charging batteries in the case but still not soldered together, perhaps I should.
Ease of assembly
60%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
80%
Overall
60%

malcolm woodcock 1 wrote on 11/02/2011:
Strengths: Ease of use.
Weaknesses: The manual.
Overall: This my first computer Tx. It's always assumed that you know what to do. I didn't
Ease of assembly
60%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
60%
Value for money
80%
Overall
60%

Chris Ratcliffe wrote on 14/11/2009:
EXCELLENT
Strengths: Well balanced transmitter, large enough to feel rugged in my large hands. Manual easy to understand and good Illustrations. An easy introduction to 2.4GHz
Weaknesses: The program knurl buton seems light and flimsy but it does the job and easy to use.
Overall: Excellent system so far. I fly near Manchester Airport and all at the club have interference problems on 35mhz. None at all with this system! Buying another receiver go for the AR500 5 channal DSM2 it is less than half the price of the 6 channel job. I have no problem with the 4 batteries in the transmitter, they last a very long time and the power read out is always available on the transmitter readout. My last system was the HItec OPTIC6 this is a perfict replacement Virtually identical in it's operation and it's program modes.
Ease of assembly
100%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
100%
Overall
80%

jethro wrote on 28/10/2009:
EXCELLENT
Strengths: Has more controls you shake a stick at & great all rounder
Weaknesses: weak trim switches fitted new ones but its the mounting holes they are slack & need larger screws,also the tuning knurl button is somewhat flimsy
Overall: great value for the money once trim switches & knurl button are modified it will be topdog,or as tina turner used to sing simply the best
Ease of assembly
0%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
100%
Overall
60%

cagey wrote on 30/08/2009:
EXCELLENT VALUE
Strengths: light, smooth sticks,feels good,well balanced,cheap to run.
Weaknesses: manual is very confusing. trim switches much too fragile,3 been repaired and the 4th just in case.Stick centering springs not strong enough for me.Scroll switch too easy to make a wrong selection with.
Overall: You wont get better for the money.Minor niggles easily overcome.
Ease of assembly
60%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
80%
Overall
60%

Eck wrote on 29/08/2009:
CAN'T BEAT IT FOR THE PRICE
Strengths: Six channels of 2.4GHz security for less than 150? More features than you could shake a stick at? What more do you need....
Weaknesses: ... Apart from a manual that explains what the features actually do, rather than just how to programme them.
Overall: Excellent beginners (or returners) radio.
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
100%
Overall
80%

jason starkey wrote on 11/02/2009:
GREAT KIT
Strengths: seems simple to use compared to my mates futaba
Weaknesses: can't think of any at the mo
Overall: Impressed with it for the price I paid (99) does everything I want of it.
Ease of assembly
0%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
80%
Overall
60%

John Mullarkey wrote on 19/12/2008:
GRRRRRR88
Strengths: Ergonomic, user friendly
Weaknesses: Size of manual but plenty of pictures.lol
Overall: Great Transmitter.
Ease of assembly
100%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
100%
Overall
80%

Mike Lloyd wrote on 18/12/2008:
INST A BIT CONFUSING
Overall: to easy to lose settings
Ease of assembly
60%
Build quality
40%
Flight performance
60%
Value for money
60%
Overall
40%

Peter Currey wrote on 14/12/2008:
EXCELLENT VALUE FOR MONEY
Strengths: Well built. Easy to use and to create programmes for different model profiles. Light and well laid out.
Weaknesses: Some say it would have been better with rechargeable batteries. I'm more than happy with long life of good quality dry cells. It has been suggested that use of non-hard-wired batteries is a problem. However, transmitter is designed to be used with loose-fit dry cells. B.M.F.A. is happy with this and advises against the use of re-chargeables in Tx designed specifically to take press-in cells.
Overall: A good, value for money, full range set-up. With sufficient (10) model memories and for any beginner and six channels. Should keep me going for some time, on fixed-wing and heli. 2.4 is wonderful.
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
80%
Overall
80%

Trevi wrote on 06/12/2008:
NICE BIT OF KIT
Strengths: Good value for the money
Weaknesses: No instructions whichway the servos plug intothe receiver
Overall: Very good
Ease of assembly
100%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
80%
Overall
80%

Derek Bradford wrote on 02/12/2008:
VERY GOOD, I LIKE IT!!
Strengths: Very reliable never let me down yet.
Weaknesses: I would prefer throttle cut button to be on Left side of transmitter.
Overall: Nice design easy to use for beginner like me, intructions easy to understand and Transmitter easy to set up. Great!!
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
100%
Overall
80%

ntsmith wrote on 01/12/2008:
SUPERB VALUE
Strengths: Intuative and very simple to use.
Weaknesses: None really.
Overall: Superb value for money.
Ease of assembly
100%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
100%
Overall
80%

Tim Mackey wrote on 28/11/2008:
VERY GOOD
Strengths: VFM, 10 model memory, easy programming, Excellent power drain
Weaknesses: trim switches and roller bar are flimsy, not the same channel output as DX7 so cant interchange delta wing models for instance.
Overall: Excellent value for money.
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
100%
Overall
80%

Craig Spence wrote on 28/11/2008:
VALUE FOR MONEY ( FOR BEGINNERS)
Strengths: Good manuel, cheap price considering your getting a 50 receiver with it and a good fit for my learned hands. Great Transmitter, it does the job and looks good to, I cant see myself upgradeing unless absolutley nessercery. Also very low power drain.
Weaknesses: No charger in the kit or rechargable batteries. You will need to modify the tx if you wish to put a battey pack in there and this will also void your warranty. However apart from that its great.
Overall: Great Transmitter, good looking and long battery life. I wont upgrade unless I have to. Would be even better with a charger and battery pack but im really not bothered.
Ease of assembly
100%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
100%
Overall
80%

richard crosby 2 wrote on 12/10/2008:
GOOD FOR A BEGINNER
Strengths: no glitches
Weaknesses: expensive receiver
Overall: I'm a real beginner. All I know is I bought a RTF model which was glitchy and caused be to crash a few times. Not good for confidence. Getting a DX6I eradicates one of the variables a beginner faces. I should've bought a decent radio like this right from the start!!
Ease of assembly
60%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
80%
Overall
60%

Startazz No1 wrote on 12/10/2008:
GOT TO BE MY BEST TX FOR SURE BOYS.
Overall: Got this with my blade 400 3D,it was one of the main reasons for getting the E-flite heli,as i was going for the t-rex but as you got this great little tx with the E-flite blade 400 3D i just had to get it,i have a good few other tx's but this is my best by a long shot so easy to use,has a ten model memory which is very handy and computerise aswell plus loads more i haven't mentioned,great TX for your money boys.
Ease of assembly
100%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
80%
Overall
80%

Michael Dearden wrote on 04/10/2008:
NICE PIECE OF KIT.
Strengths: Lightweight, easy to program and not expensive.
Weaknesses: Little bit of a cheap feel but for the price what do you expect?
Overall: A good, cost effective system. For a first time into 2.4 just what was needed.
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
80%
Overall
80%

Rick Brayford wrote on 01/10/2008:
NO PROBLEMS SO FAR
Strengths: Relatively inexpensive 6ch, 2.4g
Weaknesses: Removing the back of the unit relealed several cold/dry solder joints which could spell disaster.
Overall: Don't mind a slightly plastic look and feel (controls are sensitively accurate)if they took a little more time with internal solder joints
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
40%
Overall
60%

Matthew Jones wrote on 26/09/2008:
THE DOGS DANGLIES............
Strengths: Fully Programable
Weaknesses: None that i can think of.......
Overall: As a 2.4 Ghz Starting System you can't beat it, Never Had a Glitch Compaired to any 35Mhz system
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
80%
Overall
80%

Chris Bott - Moderator wrote on 21/09/2008:
FANTASTIC VALUE FOR MONEY
Strengths: Simplicity! The programming is so intuitive, this is so much easier than any other Tx I've had.
Weaknesses: Dry battery box. As the battery contacts seem substantial enough I've inserted 4 separate Sanyo eneloops and taped up the back cover for security. I charge with a rx charger and adapter lead. But it doesnt need it very often.
Overall: Considering the price this is an excellent transmitter. Enough facilities for average Joe (me) without being over complicated. With the 2000mAh eneloop batteries I accidentally left it on overnight and there was still hours in the battery. Tx to Rx lock is a revelation after 35MHz. No glitches at all experienced yet. (except between the ears) Now, a "normal" Tx feels heavy.
Ease of assembly
100%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
100%
Overall
80%

Garry Pollard wrote on 21/09/2008:
AGAINST 35MEG THERE IS NO CONTEST NEVER HAD A TWITCH
Strengths: Solid lock Tx to Rx every time. Cannot fly wrong model. Feels right. Have had no problem at all with dry cells, they last for ages and when they are going down the Tx tells you without loosing contact.
Weaknesses: Instruction manual very poor, ie assumes user knows what they are talking about
Overall: Absolutly superb would not fly with anything else. My first computer set up and am so pleased with it I have bought 2 more rx s . Ok they are 50 each but would you like to make one for that money? I wouldnt
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
40%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
80%
Overall
60%

Peter Clarke wrote on 20/09/2008:
BOUGHT AS PART OF A RTF PACKAGE - FELT TOO LIGHT & PLASTICKY
Strengths: Cheap computer radio
Weaknesses: Too light & plasticky - I bought a DX-7 at the same time because it is more akin to the JR 2720 Tx. I hate the scroll roller system for programming. I have not flown a model with it as I don't trust it.
Overall: Works very well on the computer simulator FMS & Preflight, which is where it will stay
Ease of assembly
40%
Build quality
40%
Flight performance
40%
Value for money
60%
Overall
40%

GrumpyGnome wrote on 07/08/2008:
EXCELLENT !
Strengths: Price Decent mixing facilities Works exactly as advertised
Weaknesses: Flaps on a swicth Tx is a bit large for smaller hands Rxs still a bit expensive
Overall: Very very pleased with it. Don't reacll experiencing a single glitch. Would prefer rechargable cells in the Tx but I can live with that ! Nice and user friendly
Ease of assembly
60%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
80%
Overall
60%

LIONAWA wrote on 05/08/2008:
GREAT
Strengths: reliable
Weaknesses: jog wheel programming
Overall: excellent
Ease of assembly
60%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
80%
Overall
60%

Peter 'Ivanna Crashalot' Savage wrote on 04/08/2008:
CAN'T AFFORD A DX7? GET THIS! GOOD ALL ROUND TRANNY
Strengths: Pitch and Throttle Curve graph!!!!! helped set up helicopters tenfold works with JR transmitter charger or any power supply giving negative tip 9-12v
Weaknesses: Looks and feels a bit plasticy, don't get feeling of quality don't have many receivers :( If you want to use flaps for something else other than flaps you need to set it up as if you are using it as flaps, same with the gyro rate switch, if you want to use it for retracts you have to use the gyro menu for the EPAs
Overall: It has become a central part of my flying, and have not used a 35mhz transmitter for a while except when i don't have anymore ar6100s lying around :(
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
80%
Overall
80%

Mick Mackie wrote on 02/08/2008:
GOOD VALUE
Strengths: nice to hold.
Weaknesses: trim levers weak had to repair rudder trim only worked in one direction after about one hours use. Also found the roller control very sensitive to touch.
Overall: happy with it so far.
Ease of assembly
60%
Build quality
40%
Flight performance
60%
Value for money
60%
Overall
40%

Ian wrote on 19/07/2008:
VERY GOOD VALUE SET IF YOU ALREADY HAVE A CHARGER AND SERVOS
Strengths: Has a timer which I have never had before!
Weaknesses: Dry batteries
Overall: Very good. Rip out the battery contacts in the tx and fit a rechargeable pack instead.
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
60%
Overall
60%

Don Luck wrote on 16/07/2008:
FIRST CLASS,
Strengths: forget xtals, flags, trailing rx aerials, 'fishing rod' tx aerials,worries over 'noise', fussy computer programming et al.
Weaknesses: my initial concern was tx battery, but so far no probs. Have switched to nmh 2000mah and modified a rx charger plug [reverse polarity]I found the stick ends were too sharp for my shrunken thumb pads,rubber pads fixed that!
Overall: I INTEND TO SWITCH OVER TO 2.4 FOR ALL MY MODELS
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
100%
Overall
80%

Graham Cramp wrote on 18/06/2008:
EXCELLENT VALUE BEGINNERS SET.
Strengths: Easy to use, easy to programme.
Weaknesses: WILL ONLY BUDDY WITH ANOTHER DX6I!!!
Overall: As a beginner I was purchased one of these as a gift before visiting my local club, turned out there was only one other Spektrum user and he was using a DX7. My 6i would not talk properly to it as no trims that were set on his transmitter would transfer to mine. The only way I could learn using the buddy system was to buy a second transmitter which I did and with the 2 of them together I cannot fault it. Will see what the future holds and whether it will develop with me.
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
100%
Overall
80%

Barrie James wrote on 16/06/2008:
PRETTY GOOD!
Strengths: Secure lock onto receiver. Full range.
Weaknesses: Batteries held by clips against BMFA advice.
Overall: For some time I viewed the model with suspicion. Where was the catch? Why was it so cheap? Why did not more of our club members have one? Eventually my fears evaporated and I bought one. 89.99 from the local shop. I am very pleased with it. Sure it feels a little strange at first but the advantages are so numerous I wont go into them here. Some members thought that the DX6i was the park-flyer model. Not so, evidently that is the DX6. Functional? Yes. Good looking? No, well not in my opinion. Receivers are still very expensive at about 50.00. Doubtless they will come down in price eventually.
Ease of assembly
60%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
100%
Overall
80%

John Clarke 3 wrote on 16/06/2008:
GREAT RADIO FOR HELICOPTERS
Overall: ca't buy better
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
100%
Overall
80%

Brian Smith wrote on 12/06/2008:
WELL MADE JR CLONE EXCELLENT VALUE FOR BEGINNER
Strengths: Easily understood manual if you're familiar with R/C terms and controls
Weaknesses: Being a JR clone the charger T/X output and T/X input is reverse polarity compared to Futaba and Hitec. Centre pin is negative polarity with both Spectrum and JR. transmitters. There is no diode protection in the charging circuit so using Futaba or Hitec chargers will damage the charger or possibly the T/X as well.
Overall: An attractive and comfortable T/X case with smooth stick assemblies. Trim levers easily reached during flight. The R/X is one of the smallest I've ever used but care must be taken installing and removing servo plugs.
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
100%
Overall
80%

Eric Strefford wrote on 11/06/2008:
GREAT UNIT, GREAT PRICE
Strengths: Easy to use, programming very straight forward, can even use without manual.
Weaknesses: None I have found yet.
Overall: Have used with 6300 indoor lightweight rec and falcon servos in 22gm Mosquito, and with a 6100 in a ducted fan wing no problems at all, range with 6100 was as far as I could go and still make out which way model flying. Would recommend to anyone.
Ease of assembly
100%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
100%
Overall
80%

YakMad wrote on 10/06/2008:
GOOD VALUE, EASY TO USE
Strengths: Easy to use, 10 model memories and 2 model types fixed wing and heli.
Weaknesses: Switches have a cheap feel to them and jog wheel is stiff, only supplied with dry batteries.
Overall: I bought one as part of an EP heli package and quickly found my self adding more models to it until I had very soon filled the 10 memory slots. It appears to have very low power consumption. I modified the RX output on one of my chargers (it runs on only 4.8 volts) and put 2000 mah ni-mh cells in it and can now fly for hours without having to charge it.
Ease of assembly
60%
Build quality
60%
Flight performance
80%
Value for money
80%
Overall
60%

Frank Skilbeck wrote on 10/06/2008:
FANTASTIC VALUE FOR MONEY
Strengths: 2.4 Ghz, easy to program, great in "noisy" electric installations.
Weaknesses: Flaps are not proportional. Not supplied with rechargable batteries. Rx is a tad too small!
Overall: Bought one as a back up for my main 35 MHz set and tried it in 2 "noisy" electric ducted fan models, worked flawlessly with not a single glitch and no trailing aerial. If anything the Rx (6200) is a bit small and getting all the servo leads in is a bit tight. Instructions only show how to bind using a Rx switch harness, but you can do this by pushing bind plug direct into batt/bind Rx socket when using an ESC with BEC. It even balances on the neck strap.
Ease of assembly
80%
Build quality
80%
Flight performance
100%
Value for money
100%
Overall
80%

Magazine Locator

Want the latest issue of RCM&E? Use our magazine locator link to find your nearest stockist!

Find RCM&E! 

Email News - Join our newsletter

Love Model Aircraft? Sign up to our emails for the latest news and special offers!

Latest Forum Posts
Support Our Partners
Overlander
Expo Tools 14 July
electricwingman 2017
CML
Slec
Gliders Distribution
Airtek Hobbies
Wings & Wheels 2018
Sarik
Advertise With Us
Latest "For Sale" Ads
How has your building graduated?
Q: Did you start with ARTF and move to building from kits or vice versa?

 Started with ARTF moved to building from kits only
 Started with ARTF moved to building from plans only
 Started with ARTF moved to building from kits and building from plans
 Started with building kits or from plans and moved to ARTF
 I only build from kits or plans
 I only build ARTF
 I only build from kits
 I only build from plans
 Other (Please specify in thread)

Latest Reviews
Digital Back Issues

RCM&E Digital Back Issues

Contact us

Contact us