Bachem Natter

I have decided to design, if not to grand a description, a Semi Scale Bachem Natter.

Being an ex engineer, I have interests in those areas of design and construction, where the signpost to the future were or are less than clear. The Natter was one of those projects. Using some technologies in there infancy, designed for an operating regime less than orthodox. It could in some respects be considered a manned missile.

Other aircraft I would love to model is a DouglasX3, Skyrocket, Skystreak, Bell X1,2 etc all challenging aircraft.

I will post some pictures of a Bachem Natter later.

I am less than convinced that the project will be successful, or if a successful model, other than Jetex has been built. A principal issue is the small wing area, relative to the body, and the unusual control systems/methods. I will more than cheat on the wing area. I see eight is an issue, in addition to drag.

By the way Natter is German for an Adder or Viper. Actually pronounced as Nayter, as I cannot print the umlauts to change the sound, if yoy get my meaning

I am not aware of any concrete Tony, there was a glide bomb with concrete wings the B&V 246.

You are certainly correct with respect to the use of wood, if orange boxes counts as wood. As an aircraft, the standards of construction were very low and incredibly simple.

In many respects the concept side stepped many of the inherent problems that were being encountered when making step changes. In the case of very high speed aircraft, that of having a competent pilot, also the issue of bring to bear a weapons system. The Bachem, took of automatically, needed no skill in landing, because the pilot baled out. With respect to the weapons system, it was simply a battery of some 30 rockets. In practice, the range, when firing was found to be far less critical than using guns or cannon. It was found that a single hit from one of these rockets could bring a heavy bomber down.