The Wonky Webbit, The Story So Far

Well this as far as I have got. Another step forward, I'm now waiting for the inevitable two steps back to appear.

Tail assembly not yet glued so that's why it's wonky.

Geoff

Wonky Webbit Builder No 20

Many thanks for the comments my friends, looks good on here but may not stand up to close scrutiny. I had a right pigs ear of a game with those wing tips.lol. BTW the reason I haven't sheeted the fuselage yet is because I using push rods for the control system. I have never used this method before as I have always used snakes but on the Webbit I felt they exerted too much pressure. Now the question. Do I need to put a support in the fuselage for the push rods or will they manage under their own steam? Cheers my friends

Geoff

Nearly Finished Webbit Builder No 20

Edited By Geoff Smith 1 on 14/06/2011 08:10:26

I like the covering job on the wings Geoff, I'm going to use the same colour and maybe "dayglo" orange for the wingtips.

As for the pushrods, I was in two minds whether to use them but as I already had a spare set of snakes handy I used them instead. For such a small model I'd use 1/4" hardwood dowel (I bought a 10' length from a builders for a couple of quid) with the 2mm rods tied and glued in the normal manner to the ends. They won't need supporting in the fuselage.

Webbiteer No. 43

Why is mine longer than yours? Now that I've got your attention let me elucidate. When fitted my rudder fin extends well below the bottom of the rear fuselage. As I have not fitted wheels the first landing is going to see that ripped off. Have I made a mistake somewhere or should I trim to fit?
Cheers all,
Geoff

Elongated Webbit Builder No 20

Edited By Geoff Smith 1 on 15/06/2011 08:28:04

These things often happen Geoff.
I would trim the rudder to be flush with the fuse btm or alternatively fit
a small tail skid made from either thin piano wire or ply, let in to the sheet.