PSS A-10 Thunderbolt II - build blog

Phil Cooke

With the end of the 2012 flying season upon us I thought it was about time I started a thread on an ongoing PSS build, one which will see me through the Winter for sure, and no doubt well beyond before this is finished and ready for the slope.

I actually started the build well over a year ago now, and I'd say im about half way through - but with work and life as it is, combined with other commitments in the hobby (like flying and event going) it has been very much a stop/start affair so far... there is no rush, no promises or deadlines, it will be done when it's done... so the first few instalments of this blog will be written retrospectively, but we will no doubt catch up with progress soon and then proceed 'real-time' with the ongoing build.  Oh, and as this is my first build blog, please go easy.

So, for anyone not familiar, let me introduce you to the Fairchild A-10 Thunderbolt II - the 'Tankbuster'!

A-10 low level.jpg

Yes, this is a real one - but this is the sort of image we are trying to reproduce - a scale looking A-10 Thunderbolt II thundering low level across the slope and looking every inch like the full-size. Thats the idea, anyway.

The A-10 has been proven from the slope before, but not at large scale as far as I know. Other than the twin engine pods, its considered quite a good design for PSS, in the air at least (I am worried about knocking the fins off each time I belly land, as they protrude lower then the fuselage - but more on that later!) Generally, it has a well proportioned layout with an unswept wing of decent area and ample moment arm between wing and tail.

I'm building the model to 1/6th scale, converted to PSS from an old I/C Ducted Fan plan (twin 0.91!) which will give it a wing span of 110" and a targeted AUW in slope configuration of 30lbs.