WolstonFlyer's Tucano

WolstonFlyer

I thought I would start my build thread a bit early just to get it in place and to add my initial thoughts and plans.

Just a bit of background info about me first.

I am new to RC flying (only last year) but did build a couple of Keil Kraft rubber powered models many years ago in my youth. So far I have only built depron and epp models from free plans found on RC groups and the FliteTest.com website, I have also built an RCPowers Eurofighter that flies very well (and it has been lots of fun). I do have a degree in Engineering but have carved out a career in IT support and programming.

I also have a Wot4 Foam-e to try and pass my 'A' test on (if it ever stops raining), I am hoping to get my A test done before Greenacres so that I can join in with the event.

I decided to join the "balsa bashing" gang and have a go a this years mass build, it looks like it will be fun and I should learn a lot on the way.

Edited By WolstonFlyer on 21/11/2012 11:03:49

Just for anybody that is interested this is my powertrain setup for the Tucano using HobbyKing parts form the UK warehouse.

NTM Prop Drive 3542 1250Kv

- I am going to test the motor with 9x6 and 10x6 APC style prop

NTM 35 motor mounting pack

Turnigy Plush 60Amp Speed Controller

Turnigy 5A (8-26v) SBEC - just in case the ESC calls it a day the RX will still have power

Turnigy MG90S Metal Gear Servo - Thanks Phil Winks

Edited By WolstonFlyer on 21/11/2012 11:18:48

That looks an excellent setup for the Tucano WF. good to see you're going to test it with different props. I have a 1250Kv motor of about that size, and a 10x6 prop would burn it out on a 3S LiPo, but I know of others that need a 10x6 to produce a useful amount of power. This just shows that not all Kvs can be trusted. Can you let us know the current and power figures when you do test?

Good luck with the build, it's good to see a build thread started.