Darran a Dawn Flyer (A first ever build)

Darran

Hi

I am new to model flying and building having only started in the hobby in August 2013. I started by assembling a irvine tutor 2, joined a club and started with Some flight training before the weather started getting in the way.

I decided that I would join in the fun of the mass build and choose the Dawn Flyer as I liked the look of it.

So with a CNC and wood pack obtained I am writing this blog from a beginners perspective. So enough about me and on with blog

First up I have been reading and following the other blogs on the Dawn Flyer builds and these have been a great help to a beginner like me in particular BEB's blog which is very detailed.

Having obtained plans and wood packs my first decision was what to use as my building station. Given that I do not have a garage and my shed needed a good tidy out before it could be used I came to the conclusion that the build would be indoors and that limited my space. After some ideas and information from the people on here I decided to create a building surface that I could move / store in as necessary.

The base of my surface is a DIY workbench, I then provided a 600x1200mm flat surface in the form of a 18mm think melamine board which I attached a 70mm deep wooden support to grip in the workbench. This provided a sturdy flat surface to place my balsa building board I purchased from SLEC.

So now I have a building surface which is really flat and just the job.

Next I sourced some tools to assist with the build and some glues. I used BEB's blog for a list of tools I would need, and visited several web sites to locate some good quality model glues, again thanks to people on here I ended up ordering glues from deluxe materials.

so my shopping list started with

Swann and Morton scalpel and blades, Razor saw, balsa stripper, permagrit block, engineers square, several size grips and clamps

I already had several rules and straight edges so no need to get them.