Malyan M180 3D Printer Thread

Ian Jones

The Malyan M180 is a reasonably priced 3D printer for the features it offers, have you got one, if so let's hear your experiences. Thinking about getting one, perhaps your questions are answered here, if not then ask here too.

One of my early problems was that the glass building bed moved whilst a build was in progress even though I’d tightened the thumb screws up as much as I could. Anyone else experienced this?

Edited By Ian Jones on 18/10/2016 18:53:53

Hi Ian,

I've been using the Malyan 150 for a couple of months now and am mightily pleased with the results.

I chose the 150 over the 180 for 2 reasons:

1 I don't need a dual extruder capability, so can keep the cost down, and

2 The 150 has a larger print bed, 200mm sq as opposed to 230 x 150mm

Whichever folks choose though, Malyan is most highly recommended!

Pete

I haven't tried printing ABS yet Ian as the PLA filament I've been using up to now has seemed quite strong enough.

The M150 is perfectly capable of handling ABS with all of the settings being adjustable beforehand and "on the fly."

I know that ABS is reported to be a bit trickier to use as a heated bed is a must and the nozzle temps are higher. If I get around to using it I'll keep you posted.

All round, I've found 3D printing to be a real advantage when wondering how to produce those tricky parts. So far I've used it for all manner of things from scale gun sights, pilot figures, bespoke control horns, complex hatch covers, intake edges, camera mounts etc, etc. The list just goes on!

Posted by pete taylor on 18/10/2016 19:22:47:

Hi Ian,

I've been using the Malyan 150 for a couple of months now and am mightily pleased with the results.

Pete

Thanks for the post, that prompted me to hit Buy on one of those, after Umming and aahing over a choice of about four printers for the past few weeks. I have no real need for dual extruders at the moment and that is what settled the issue for now.