Have you passed the model flying/building bug onto anyone else?

I started too late to be good enough to teach anyone to fly. Much as I would have enjoyed teaching, I just don't fly to a high enough standard IMO.

I was a qualified sailing instructor years ago and got a lot of satisfaction from that. I was also lucky enough to get week's paid sailing for several years on the Rolls Royce yacht (a 55' ferro cement ketch called 'Merlin of Clyde' as first mate taking an 8 strong crew of totally inexperienced trainees to sea. That was great fun while it lasted.

Geoff

My preferred tavern owner is polite enough to smile at my stories...

My preferred barber/hairdresser is smart enough to use his hairdryer when 'not' (hot?) listening at my stories...

My preferred friend/partner (The LotH) is kind enough to listen to and to even sponsor my strange activities...

... but I remain convinced that she shouldn't join the model flying activities for the sake of all...

Cheers

Chris

I built my Nephew Nigel when he was about 10 a free flight Chatterbox and a control line Keil Kraft Champ. He went on to upstage me in every aspect of the hobby including taking part in the Gold Trophy and the combat control line events at the Nationals. He passed his B certificate and demonstrated RC flying at RAF Dunsfold where he once worked having passed an aeronautical degree. I spoke to him last week and he confirmed he is working on the full size Typhoon fighter. I believe he has still got the Chatterbox and despite giving up radio control several years ago has just bought some 2.4 mhz gear.

001 (2) nigel.jpg

Edited By Mike Etheridge 1 on 11/01/2017 00:25:08