Lavochkin La7 - Warbird Replicas Kit

Pete H

Prompted by the Kit Builders What Would You Like? thread I purchased a Lavochkin La7 from Richard at Warbird Replicas. Service was first class and the kit arrived the on my doorstep next day.

This kit will be the first scale kit I have built, first warbird and it will also be my first IC plane.

I plan to power it by a Laser 70 that I purchased from Jon at Laser where the service was also superb and very helpful.

The kit arrive in an undamaged box and the contents looked good with a detailed instruction manual.

Box.jpg

I pinned some inspiration on the wall and started to digest the instructions and plan.

Target.jpg

This is my first build on here so hopefully I won't make too many mistakes along the way.

I love my bigger YT La7. Its a very imposing shape once you get it in the air and im sure you will love it. Also being Russian front it will get more scale with age as it wont matter if its bashed up, filthy and looking like a patchwork. My model is looking quite abused at this point.

One thing i would recommend is adding something to your paint job even if its non scale. That grey camo is very effective and at times all i can see of my 80'' model is a red cowling. Perhaps add some stripes to the upper wing surfaces like this example just to help with visibility.

Shane, the plane is not too big at 57" span with a target weight of 5.5lb, more details are on the warbird replica site.

Jon, I will stick with the scheme unless I find it difficult to see when flying. I know what you mean by looking a bit bashed up and abused. Initially, I was a bit worried about the painting as all my models are film covered but after looking at pictures of the real thing I think I could get it about right with a 4" brush.

if you brown paper cover it as Richard suggests any worn down paint will wear back to brown...which was the colour of the full size as it was all wooden!