Wot4XL Mk2 engine choices

Posted by Stuart Marsden on 25/04/2017 21:15:42:

I have just acquired a Wot4 XL MK2 with an ASP120 4 stroke. I wonder if this will be powerful enough for full aeronautics, experiences please.by

I have the same model with the same engine and its a good match, mine will just about do anything I want it to.

Mark.

Edited By Mark a on 25/04/2017 21:31:40

Posted by Stuart Marsden on 25/04/2017 21:36:48:

That's great to hear, what prop are you using please?

Its fitted with an Xoar 15 x 6 at the moment but pulls well with 14 x 6. Its worth checking the fin just make sure its been securely glued in.

Edited By Mark a on 25/04/2017 22:00:26

Yes Chris, that's the reaction I expected from a skilled pilot, but I'm getting everso slightly elderly, I'm still learning and I shall be flying the thing like a trainer really.

My ultimate aim is simply to be able to fly a big WWI biplane without undue risk. At the moment, I have no intention or ambition to get into aerobatics. I started with an electric foamie Wot4, I now have a couple of ic Wot4s and, of course, I love 'em, so I thought I'd try the XL.

Anyway, when all this comes about, I shall post the results on here.

I have a "cooking" Enya 120 FS in mine, it will do most things but won't go vertical for ever. A 120 fourstroke seems to be the most popular engine choice but I have seen one powered by a 90 fourstroke.

Just to re-iterate Mark's point, please check that the fin is securely glued in. I handed the transmitter to a fellow club member last year so that he could try out the XL. He flew it around without putting to much stress on the airframe when the fin let go. He managed to get it down without damage.I'm sure it would have gone in if I'd been at the controls! I have subsequently made up a new fin, glued triangular strip along the junction of the fuselage and fin and added wire bracing.

wot 4 xl minus fin (1).jpg

wot 4 xl fin repair.jpg

wot4 xl fin repaired. (1).jpg