A-10 Thunderbolt from the Mike Pastro Plan

Phil Beard

Well I've always wanted to build amodel of the A10 Thunderbolt and having a PSS model of one ticks all the boxes for me.

I thought I'd do a blog of the build so as to keep my motivation going and also be able to ask for help when required mainly with respect on how to cover the model and paint it, together with how to make a canopy. Something that I've never done before.

Thought I'd attach some photos to show how I've started already.img_2041.jpgimg_2042.jpgimg_2043.jpgimg_2045.jpgimg_2046.jpg

• 2 weeks later...

Well after another week away last week looking after full size aircraft I'm back home doing some more work this time on the out port wing of my A10.

Last week wasn't fully wasted as I managed to cut-out alot of the fuselage frames in my hotel room in the evening. Will post an image of these later.img_2056.jpg

img_2057.jpg

img_2058.jpg

img_2059.jpg

Chris Barlow many apologies for not responding sooner, had mean't to say I think I will be using the Winter Colours similar to those used by Andy Meade as it does seem to give a nice look.

What I need now is some help in how I should cover the model and put on the colour scheme. I'm used to using Solarfilm and solar tex but I'm not sure what to use for this model to give the best effect. Any help greatly received.

Hi Philip,

If we say that the way to get the camo scheme onto the airframe is with sprayed on paint, then of course we need to get a decent smooth substrate for masking up. My order of preference for this would be silver hobbyking film, then tissue and dope in second, then solartex in last place. 'Tex is quite hard to fill the weave well enough to stop bleed-through of colours unfortunately.