Matt's renaissance build

Hi all,

I've been watching this with great interest, especially after buying the RCME July 18 edition with the free plan.

A few points to note:

• I got back into flying last year after a 20yr break - now 37.
  • I bought the magazine as part of my journey back into the hobby
  • I soon after bought a Chris Foss Uno Wot - my first balsa build since my teens
  • I've never built from plan before
  • Now an electric convert
  • I've simply ordered my wood from SLEC and and copying/cutting from the plans. No short kit for me!

So, having seen the mass build was to be Renaissance, i was fairly excited to see others start their builds and to learn this.

I actually started on the 1st March although have only now decided i will share my progress/experience and add some pics.

In fact, my fuselage is nearly complete - i'll post some pics up later.

Some things i have learnt:

• Fuselage sheeting - i used 2.4mm for this. As i'm going electric, i was tempted to go 1.6mm. I still think this would have worked and working the wood would have also been easier.
  • Tailplane - I have modded from the plans slightly and gone for a 'squared off' look. I also built the horizontal stab as a single piece - this ensures strength
  • Tailfin - I've noticed some are building the base of this to sit on top of the soft shaped block. Instead i cut the bottom of the bottom to be flush onto the stab. This means that the soft balsa blocks fit along the sides of the fin and provide a more rigid mating surface.
  • As vibration and fuel proofing won't be an issue, but cooling is, i've used liteply throughout the fuse. I'm also opening up lighting holes in the formers, ribs etc, thus reducing the overall weight and increasing airflow around the ESC and lipo.
  • Probably going to install the ESC on the motor mount. The lipo will be where the fuel tank sits using velcro straps. Also attaching the hatch using hinges and a quick release system for fast and easy access.