Alaskan Air National Guard Version

• 1 month later...

Well, I've made a start on the wings. I was very impressed by how well the jig went together and how well it sat over the plan.

I found it a little tricky to line up the construction of the wing over the jig and plan, due to the height difference and parallax errors, etc, but I think I've got it close enough. I noticed the same problem as Harry with the height of the jig at R1, so fixed it the same way with a strip of 1/16th balsa. Maybe there's a reason for this gap? I must read some of the blogs of the other guys starting on the wing!

I've never built a wing this way before, and was a little apprehensive, but it seems to be going pretty well so far and I think it should make the process of achieving the correct wash-out, a lot more straight-forward than many other methods.

img_20191110_183301798.jpg

HaHa! I shall try to be more systematic Chris!

I fixed the jig down to the bench Chris, by cutting and pre-drilling about 16 small spruce blocks and glueing them to the sides of 8 ribs, then tacking through these with some small panel pins. I notice that most people are glueing their jigs together, but I didn't bother. Mine is just pressed together and then tacked to the bench. Mainly because I wanted to be able to dismantle it and keep it, but also because I thought it would be sturdy enough like this. You just need to check that all the jig ribs are lying flat on the building board before you start to assemble the wing.

I realise now that the reason I had trouble aligning the wing on the jig is because I had far too much excess on the lower skin. This obscures your view of the jig and the plan and makes things difficult. If I did it again I would reduce the extra wing skin to about 1mm all round.

• 2 months later...

Just a quick progress report. I have pretty much finished the wing. I though I would leave the dowels and wing bolts until I can see better how it meets the fuselage.