The Norwegian Gnat Squad

After doing a club build of 7 Microaces Scrappee's last autumn we have decided to prepare the summer season with building a handfull of Gnat's together.

Most work will be done during the Wednesday Club night, so progress will not be very quick. However, that does not matter since there usually is snow on the ground until May.

3 member (your scribe included) have signed up, and to make things easy we have ordered kits from Tony Nyhuis.

So let's Go!

Lucas

We purchased (on Banggood) DHV56MG servo's. Digital, 5.6 gr, 1.2 kgcm, 0.10 sec. And a pleasant 6GBP price tag.

I have never used these before. They look good whn testing on on the bench after arrival: zero slack on the shaft, little play in the gear, nearly soundless and (as far as one can judge that) they seem to center consistently.

servotest.jpg

And the first one survived 500 cycles.

Lucas

• 2 months later...

To avoid local virus spreading our national assosiation has strongly advised all clubs to cancel any activities, so this will not be a club evening build. However, Morten has started. As a graphical designer his planes always look good:

20200318mortencolours.jpg

And his first steps. He is using a building board of 5 cm blue foam, which is both stiff, light and take pins very well:

20200318mortenfirststeps.jpg

Cheers

Lucas

Some creativity in creating the thrust tube: Morten, one of the builders experienced that his tube material was to stiff to bend to the required diameter. He came up with the following solution:

mortenthrusttubebaking.jpg

150 degrees centigrade for 10 minutes. The result is this:

mortenbakedthrusttube.jpg

I wonder whether the ridges will lead to loss of thrust.

Regards,

Lucas

Lucas, Glad you are getting going. Guarantee you will be exhilarated when you get the gnat in the air; I know I was.