2m f3a plane. Lexicon.

Hi guys, thought i'd do a bit of a build thread on here of my latest f3a plane. I have posted else where so apologies if you have seen some of these pics before.

I started drawing this up on cad last summer with intention of using it this season, its finished and hopefully we'll get some comps later in the year.

Its a 2m f3a model, powered by a 10s, single drive, geared down (belt driven) electric motor. Some more unusual points being it has an all moving tailplane and a swept back wing.

Heres some pics!20191221_152357.jpg

20191221_222838.jpg

20191221_224742.jpg20191221_222902(0).jpg

20191221_225712.jpg

20191221_231700.jpg

Wow. That is some CAD work Dan. I like the fuselage split at the low level, easy to build up straight from the bench.

Does the very sharp taper and sweep back lead to any handling oddities?

Saw your funfly model in the BMFA news too, any chance of some details on it in a separate thread - looked quite an unusual approach to the contest.

Edited By Nigel R on 01/04/2020 10:41:30

Its an all moving tail so the tail will just sit where it needs to. The wing is set to 0° incidence, as is the thrust line. (2.5° of side thrust). I trim the model for a hands of vertical down line and adjust the up/down thrust in an upline for hands off. This means i'll hold in a bit of up for upright straight and level and a bit of down for inverted. I do this because generaly you will use less mixes and it feels the same whether up right or inverted.

I use cyano to glue all the frame up then mostly aliphatic for all the sheeting.

The swept wing and taper works great, no strange tendancies at all and looks great in the air.

When i build my next funfly i'll do a thread on here

Hi Barrie, how are you?

I use turbocad, bought it off ebay years ago for about 15 quid, works fine for what i need.