Smoking....

Hi All,

I am a retired electrical/electronic guy and have recently been converting some of my IC models to electric. I am pretty new to the electric flight routine so a bit of a novice. As an experiment and whilst we are in lock-down I decided to static run two recently converted models to see how long the batteries lasted. I was using a ground restraint in the garden along with a tachometer and an electronic stopwatch. The 1st model lasted 6 minutes at full throttle before I closed the throttle to check the battery voltage which showed 10%. Everything was quite cool and I was more than happy. The 2nd model with the same setup lasted only 2.5 minutes before the motor suddenly wound down to zero with smoke bellowing out of the cowling. I quickly removed the battery prior to investigation. Motor was too hot to touch. Upon removing the cowling I expected to see a charred mass. But no, everything looked perfect as did the windings in the motor. Not a blemish anywhere. I also inspected the ESC and that was the same. I then reconnected the battery (which showed 50%) and tentatively opened the throttle. All was not well. The motor started okay, but when passing through about 1000 rpm started stutter and shudder so I abandoned the exercise.

So, I have a duff motor, ESC, or both. I haven't got a spare of either at the moment so I don't know which it is.

Motor: Turnigy Aerodrive SK3 3536 - 1050 kv, 505 Watts, Max 34 A

ESC: Aerostar 50A with BEC

Battery: 3S 3.0A

Propeller Master Airscrew (Elec) 10x7

Figures recorded from Wattmeter: 10.8V, 25,5A, 268W, 9300RPM

I'm thinking that it might be over-propped.

Your thoughts on the burn-out please gents (and ladies) as the parameters above look okay to me (as an electric flight novice).

Roger

The first thing I would do is forget running the model statically on the ground at full throttle for extended periods.