Swoop. 1.2m aerobatic slope soarer

After having a brief go with a dreamflight Ahi, and liking it, i thought would it be possible to design something with similar flight characteristics out of balsa? This is my first attempt, its all built now just need to cover and chuck it off a slope. Another motivation was maybe to sell a few kits, so hopefully it flies well enough to put it into production.

Anyway this is it so far. Its mainly 3/32 laser cut balsa. Bit of 1/4" for the tail.

Its light at the moment at 137g, so is probably going to come in under the targeted 350g

20200626_124112.jpg

20200623_225531.jpg

20200625_204943.jpg

20200625_231528.jpg

Can of Stella for size reference! Its 1.2m span

Posted by Dan Workman on 26/06/2020 18:51:02:

Cheers guys, yes it will be covered in transparent, be a shame to cover it up!

Im waiting on servos for it, so maybe next weekend it will be ready, then i'll need to find a good slope!

Or stick a motor in its snout. No hills here on the Norfolk / Suffolk border

Malcolm, i'm not entirely sure yet as i've already got a list of modifications to make, for ease of build and for rigidity. So not sure yet how much wood and laser cut time there will be for the final version. What i was looking to offer though was a full wood kit, ie more than a short kit so it has all the wood you would need to build it and leave the buyer to provide hardware, electronics etc

Ron, maybe a powered version will come shortly after. Depends how easy it is to strap a motor on and make it look pretty at the same time!!

Dan

• 2 weeks later...

Looks great with the painted balsa & clear oracover, although my slope experience tells me that the vegetation on some slopes can be a bit course and can make little rips & tears in thin coverings, (not all slopes have long, lush grass), so for me I'd be tempted to cover the wings at least with a very thin lam film.