james hammond aeroic firebird 1.5m

The new James Hammond aeroic firebird 1.5m glider looks a cracker but before I splash out has anyone here seen one/built one/flown one? Looks like getting the gear in could be a tight squeeze so expensive thin servos will be needed.
Looks very pretty though...

Posted by Neil James on 29/07/2020 13:33:47:

The new James Hammond aeroic firebird 1.5m glider looks a cracker but before I splash out has anyone here seen one/built one/flown one? Looks like getting the gear in could be a tight squeeze so expensive thin servos will be needed.
Looks very pretty though...

Not seen one, but it does look good on paper.

The write up talks about 8mm servos - I have been using these in my 150mph 2m gliders for a couple of years and they are good so far and not too expensive (relatively speaking!).

Dick

Looks nice, though the nose is a bit long for my tastes (James seems to be making this something of a signature with his designs perhaps because of the large and heavier vertical fins he also goes for). Personally though having flown bucketloads of 60inchers over the years (Eliminator SR, Minivec, Sunbird, Banana etc) I have decided not to have any more - the 2-2.5m models are just as if not more practical to store and operate and have a lot more performance, especially in lighter lift conditions.

Edited By MattyB on 30/07/2020 13:39:39

Posted by Steve J on 30/07/2020 16:51:40:

£468 for a 60" glider!

This is one of the reasons why all moulded 60 inchers have rather died out - they are very expensive as the time and labour are nearly as much as on a 3m model, and the materials are not that much less.

...I managed to get out for my first slope session of the year last weekend. Which were the two models that committed aviation? My M60 and Prodij .