Transmitter setup for motorised glider

Simon Clark

Hello all,

I have been flying power models (some quite complex) for many years but i am now setting up my first proper motorised glider and i am looking to see how people tend to set up the controls. It is a Composite RC Edge 1500 which I guess could be described as a hotliner (maybe). It has flaps and ailerons. I want to use all the features such as camber and crow braking and I fully understand how these work BUT I am not sure about the best way to control them. I had thought about setting up one flight mode for general flying and another for landing where the crow brakes come in at low throttle setting and the motor only active at high throttle settings.

I have a Futaba T18SZ so a lot of setups are possible. I am quite used to using various mixes and flight modes etc. but what do people usually do for gliders?

Thanks for any pointers

Simon

I use motor on a switch - I am either climbing or gliding so don't need an intermediate setting. Any intermediate throttle for launch is controlled by a timed curve in the Tx.

I use different flight modes for camber (lets you adjust the elevator trim to suit) - one for speed, one for thermaling, and often a third or more variations for other tasks e.g. "distance" work or a landing trim.

Crow braking is on a proportional control - most people use the throttle stick, but I often use a side slider on my gliders which don't have a rudder.

Everyone has their own variations on what suits them, so don't get too hung up on it.

Dick

Edited by Dickw

Good morning Simon,

Take a look at the current thread headed Multiplex Heron Setup, you will find lots of relevant and useful information there, some of which I have posted.