Stabilisers. Are they helpful in learning how to fly? What is the opinion of instructors and trainees?

David Davis

I do a fair bit of instructing on a buddy box but I have no experience of flying a trainer equipped with a stabiliser.

I'd like to know of your experience of them, positive or negative, instructor or trainee.

If you have found them useful which stabiliser did you use in which model?

We have had a couple beginners with stabilised models, bit of a mixed experience, the ones that provide self levelling and limit the bank and pitch etc can lead to the beginners developing poor muscle memory and when the "crutch" is taken away they are not much forward than somebody starting on a buddy box. We had one new member that was flying without a buddy box and in safe mode he was quite competent, but the when he switched out then it was only a matter of when the model went out of control, this resulted in a couple of crashes when he couldn't find the safe switch fast enough. They also develop a bit too much confidence as even having the safe function didn't prevent flying into trees, despite the instructor telling him when to turn and in which direction.

The dampening ones though can be quite useful as all they do if dampen out the worst of the wind effects, but the pilot still has to fly the model, rather than just guide it around.

Note to take a BMFA A achievement certificate then stablisers are not permitted.

I regard them as akin to the stabiliser wheels on kiddies bikes, or the training hoops used on helicopters - OK for initial confidence building, but something to be dispensed with as soon as possible!

What I find more worrying is the number of experienced flyers fitting them to models that don't actually need them! I can understand them being fitted to a scale model, where aerodynamics dictate that they will be unstable without deviations from scale, but why fit one to (say) a thermal soarer or other "sports" aircraft?