laminate substrate type(s)

I should first stress that I am a couple of notches from being a novice builder, I am however a returnee learning about new methods/materials again.

I bought a quantity,like many others via this forum of the laminating film(Thanks for that Ron much appriciated). I have just used it for the first time. If I have applied it correctly , it looks good. I basically did what Ron reccomended in a thread . ie tack and gun heat.

What bothers me is that it is said that it should be used on prepared bare balsa!!!!

I have been reading/ folowing various threads re building of various models in order to learn the basics and improve my skills.To this end I have read various threads re surface preping, these include the use of various fillers, including the generic polyfilla, fine scratch fillers, sanding sealersetc  of various types.

What is bothering me is the effect of the much higher temps used during application. For instance OZCOVER says to start with put your iron on its highest setting!!!!!. I have been starting at 150 for tacking and hot air gun remainder.( This is simplified for reporting).But basically exceeding the temps for ordinary film.

Surely these higher temps must have an effect on the coating/filler substrate, or am I completly wrong in this conclusion?.

The question is what can you use/avoid for use as a prep/filler at these high temps.

What temps should be reccomended when applying laminating films by iron and heat gun.(Bearing in mid that most guns are not temp controlled.( I just finish when it looks evenly stretched and rub in with a clean cloth, rightly or most likely wrongly)Basically what feels , looks right.

I would appreciate some guidance!!!!!!!!!(Press enter/submit and pray)

Bas

Edited by Basil