Spar options for high aspect ratio balsa wings

Hello there,
Today I had an own-design high aspect ratio glider wing fold 150' above the slope. Ouch.
The spar was spruce. The wing folded at the root end of the flap despite the fact that the top and bottom 3/32" center-section sheeting extended beyond that point. So a fully sheeted wing would probably still have folded. I need to build a new wing. 
I'd be interested to hear any tips on construction methods for high a/r balsa wings. For example, if carbon spars are better, would you go for tube or rectangular(?) hollow or solid? One or two? And what's the best glue for bonding balsa to carbon?
Thanks,
David

Sorry to hear that, but glad the whole model wasn't a total right-off.

I'm no engineer, so forgive my loose terminology, however:

The leverage forces are greatest closest to the root, the greater the A/R the more so, so that's where the maximum strength needs to be in terms of preventing bending failure.  Sheeting the wing much beyond this area won't - as you say - have made any difference, but you'd need to ensure that you don't build any dramatic stress-risers into your new wing:  i.e. no sudden reduction in strength/stiffness at the junction of the new stronger centre-section and the structure beyond that, which would just shift the point of a potential future failure outboard; better a light 'tapering' of the spar/webbing stiffness to smooth things out.