Hi folks,
As a civilian instructor I have recently been given the task of resurecting the "round the pole" flying group at my ATC squadron. To this end i am in the process of placing a very large order of poles, kits, transformers etc from Ballard's, who seem to be the only UK supplier of RTP "stuff."
On the face of it RTP looks to be a fairly simple discipline in which to achieve resonable results without the......errrrrrrr........unschedualed arrivals and so on associated with RC.
Now this is probably (in fact almost certainly) my innocence/ignorance of the subject, so my question is this.
Has anyone got any experience of, advice on, or general comments about RTP flying ?
Many thanks
Gary.

Used to do this at my old club in the Winter. Great fun, I do not see any real problem except that you might have to set a time limit for each flyer. Its addictive. If I remember correctly, the only competition we did was spot landing, a variation could be carrier deck landing.

It is a good idea, I think, to encourage the members to design and build their own aircraft.
For example I built a swing-wing fighter based on the Tornado, quite a challenge to make the wings sweep back at higher speeds by centrifugal force.

Gary,

Now that's timing.......................

I have NO experience at all of RTP, but the Headmaster of the school I run a twice weekly RC Club inside is gifting all his old stuff in the next week or so for me to revive, so we might have something in common shortly................................

Where are Ballards........................??

Gary
Actually my Avtar is a RTP model!

As RTP is relatively cheap to do it can be a wonderful learning ground for "own design" for the less experienced builder and simply good fun for everybody else.