By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more

Member postings for Alan H

Here is a list of all the postings Alan H has made in our forums. Click on a thread name to jump to the thread.

Thread: How many flyable aircraft do you have ?
06/11/2019 12:40:47

A quick count reveals 11 fixed wing and 2 helicopters plus 0 drones. All are electric

Thread: Motocalc or Ecalc?
17/10/2019 09:30:15

I've been using Drivecalc for several years and have found it gives a pretty good idea of what to expect from a given motor/battery/prop/ESC combination.

Thread: Charging Lipo batteries
26/09/2019 19:47:35

As the Halfords PSU is a switching regulator it should have a fairly smooth output and is likely to be OK. Laptop power supplies are also switching regulators and should be fine. The old train transformer probably has an unsmoothed output and I would not risk it. The only way to tell for sure is to look at the output with an oscilloscope and see if it is a fairly smooth voltage or a series of humps at 50Hz or 100Hz. I think you should be OK with the Halfords unit.

26/09/2019 11:48:31

You need to make sure that the output from a train transformer or similar device is smoothed (typically with an electrolytic capacitor) and not just half or full wave rectified unsmoothed DC. The charger will not work properly and might be damaged by an unsmoothed power source.

Thread: ESC only works when increasing the throttle very slowly
15/07/2019 11:58:47

I've had this sort of issue several times in the past and it has nearly always been timing or start up mode related. As has been suggested try the low timing setting and also try changing to a softer start up mode (but only change one parameter at a time)

Thread: Suggestions for vintage model
17/05/2019 11:42:10