By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more

Member postings for AvRo

Here is a list of all the postings AvRo has made in our forums. Click on a thread name to jump to the thread.

Thread: How do you buy your Balsa?
15/04/2019 23:24:30

Can I ask what people do about balsa in Australia? Previously, I was a temporary resident in Romania, and I found lovely stock in art supply stores, all grades, to build the ff Stahl Taylorcraft attached. All grades, and shapes and sizes from stick to sheets of 100 x 1000. I bought just enough for this project, and cut my own sticks. Back in Australia, I have started building again in a small way, using balsa from our major hardware franchise, Bunnings. This balsa is terrible, hard (and damaged), strong grain and twisted, and sized 90 x 915. Is there a better way of buying than Bunnings? There are no stores within easy reach so I guess it must be mail. Thanks for any suggestions.

Jeff.1a6b956c-673a-4fdb-94de-6ecd1bf7923c.jpeg

Thread: Auster Plan
03/07/2018 23:45:45

Taylorcraft6.jpegMine is finished to the extent I could make it so before I left it in Romania on my return to Australia on June 30. I left it with a friend who will hang it up and not try to fly it because it is built a bit wonky.

15/06/2018 06:05:03