By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more

Member postings for Malcolm Fisher

Here is a list of all the postings Malcolm Fisher has made in our forums. Click on a thread name to jump to the thread.

Thread: Long Wing Bands
14/07/2020 19:57:34

For one of my models, I cut long enough strips from inner tubes - single strips not bands and used a hole punch at each end to fit over the dowels. Worked well for me and they lasted longer of I made the ends wider where the holes had to be punched.

Malcolm

Thread: Swoop. 1.2m aerobatic slope soarer
26/06/2020 19:33:03

Looks good. I would like one. Any idea what the kit cost would be if it goes into production?

Malcolm

Thread: Is the hobby dying/dead
25/06/2020 18:46:18

I don't have an achievement scheme rating even though I have been flying R/C models since the 1970s. In the early stages of the scheme I was asked if i would be an examiner for gliders as slope soaring was my favourite activity. I declined because I knew that my family commitments and occupation would mean that I would be unable to devote sufficient time to do it anything like well.

I also was concerned that eventually the scheme would develop into being a licence to fly and it would appear that this has largely come about in some areas. Even the BMFA demands an "A" to fly at the new HQ site.

I can, however, see the need for it where it is the only way to keep a flying site as detailed in an earlier post.

Malcolm

Thread: What's flying over your house
29/05/2020 20:09:30