By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more

Member postings for Frank Skilbeck

Here is a list of all the postings Frank Skilbeck has made in our forums. Click on a thread name to jump to the thread.

Thread: High Start Beginner
24/09/2018 18:39:22

Multiplex Easy Glider Hi Starts very easy, I forgot to switch on the Rx once, it went up on the line, came off, circled round several times and landed in the next field (lucky it didn't catch a thermal!).

Dynaflight Bird or Time also bungees very easy.

Note on the tow you must use rudder for steering not ailerons.

It's great fun BTW and when you do catch a thermal it's all the more satisfying that you haven't cheated by having a fan on the front wink

Thread: Can I have two Life batteries powering my Futaba receiver?
22/09/2018 18:07:20
Posted by robert chamberlain on 22/09/2018 03:43:52:

Hello all,--I am new to LiFe battery technology and am uncertain as to the charge rate. AS luck would have it, my cell phone battery has one, rated at 5 volt and 1000MA and my wall charger says the same thing on the label. All new wall chargers for flip phones say 5 volts 2000 ma. Does this mean to imply that these batts can take a 2C charge rate? Of course, I do not plan on using this cell phone batt in an aircraft, but I was wondering if this was indicative of all LiFe batts?-------thanks in advance, Bob in Kansas

Bob, be aware that the phone wall charger is just a power supply, the phone actually controls the charge process. My Tx uses a single 3500 mah LiFe cell for power, I charge it using a 2000mA phone charger but the Tx limits the charge rate to 1500 mA .

Note a fully charge LiFe cell is 3.6v per cell and a 2s LiFe pack is a good replacement for a 5 cell Nimh pack.

Thread: Fail safe and backups
22/09/2018 17:23:16

What radio system are you using, does your radio manufacturer already provide specific receivers for larger aircraft with heavier duty servos?