By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more

Member postings for David Davis

Here is a list of all the postings David Davis has made in our forums. Click on a thread name to jump to the thread.

Thread: new to flying
22/07/2018 10:28:18

Hi Chris!

Wecome to the forum. I've no wish to deflate your enthusiam but I agree with all of the advice which has been profferred above. I'm not an especially competent pilot myself but I am a recognised club-level instructor by the national bodies of two different countries.

My experience leads me to the view that you start off with a high-wing trainer, initially on a buddy box with an instructor and when you can take off, fly circuits at a more or less constant altitude, fly horizontal eights and land the model you should consider moving on to a high-wing sports model like a WOT 4 and use that to learn basic aerobatics. After that a low wing sports model like an Acrowot to get used to flying something a little less stable and then fly your Spifire.

Mr Wheeler, who lived in the last house in the street in which I grew up, flew a Hurricane during the Second World War. He started on the Tiger Moth before moving onto the Miles Magister. Then he was sent to Canada and the USA where he flew the Stearman and the AT6 Harvard before they would let him loose on a fighter. After the Hurricane he flew both the Tempest and the Typhoon.

You get my drift.

P.S. If you're more than about 45 years old you may be better off starting with a three channel model such as the Parkzone Radian or any vintage model before going on to an aileron trainer.

Thread: If the ground had been two metres higher, the landing would have been perfect
21/07/2018 05:19:41

Even with the Enya fitted, which is lighter than either of the Lasers, the model flew with considerable up trim. However, I'd fitted the battery beneath the fuel tank so I'll remove it and refit it well to the rear. I hope I haven't epoxied the thing in!