By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more

Member postings for Robert Parker

Here is a list of all the postings Robert Parker has made in our forums. Click on a thread name to jump to the thread.

Thread: Design & Build Dornier Do 24
17/03/2019 16:50:55

Hi All,

More applications of Poly C to the wings today as well as experimenting with the receivers. I intend using two receivers on this model to make life a little easier at the patch, 1 located in the fuselage operating the rudders and elevators and the other in the wing for everything else.

My radio equipment is a Spektrum DX9 using a 4 channel receiver in the fuselage and a 6 channel receiver in the wing. I bought a new AR620 as it has no antenna and a AR400. I have never done this before even, so all set up TX on and in bind mode and both receivers in bind mode and both bound successfully however, on switching off both TX and RX's remove the bind plug and switched on Tx then RX's the 620 worked but the servos connected to the 400 barely moved, both RX's had separate power packs. Tried them both individually and they both worked fine.

So attempt 2. as above but changing the AR620 for a AR610 and re-bound both RX's bound and worked perfectly. I now have my receivers sorted.

dsc05814.jpg

3rd, 4th and 5th coats being applied so far. In the background my new wing for my TN Lancaster is coming along well as the old one was beyond repair following a hard landing, new wing has liteply ribs and nacelle formers instead of balsa hopefully not added too much weight but gain strength..

Well back to give another coat of Poly C.

That's all for now

Regards

Robert

16/03/2019 19:24:52

Hi All,

I have made a start on the glassing on the wings, put it off for a bit, a process I've not done before, well not for around 30 years anyway and the products I used then were from Halfords and it was only a cowl, got good results though.