By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more

Member postings for Martin Fane

Here is a list of all the postings Martin Fane has made in our forums. Click on a thread name to jump to the thread.

Thread: MF's Hawker Fury Mk1
21/06/2020 17:59:36

Greetings Fury builders

Well, spurned on by Dannys progress, I have moved on a bit as well.

I must say this build is proving taxing !!!!

One step forward, 2 back.......

Not happy with my original tyres which were rubber tube, they seemed to be flattening a bit too much ( perhaps I'm a heavy builder !!)

New tyres cut from MR foam - nice to work with, shaped on a mandrel in my drill, the original wheels were re used but 6 bolts instead of 3.

new tyre.jpg

Also rethought the oleo's, my litho skills proved insufficient so I have opted to fix the oleo and build the fairings around them, a combination of balsa frame, litho skin, filler, balsa block, foil and some nice aluminium paint on the middle section

new oleo.jpg

Have now finished the painting, KK trainer yellow, really nice paint to use

all painted.jpg

and assembled for inspiration

all yellow front.jpg

all yellow side.jpg

painter yellow above.jpg

Same problem with the stuts for me, with some makeshift wire rigging they keep popping out. Not sure where to go with this crying

struts.jpg

Thread: S1581 Hawker Nimrod MkI
11/06/2020 07:10:27

Hi Danny

So impressed with your progress wink

Interesting stuff on the lacing, just wondering how you get the laced litho strip sitting flush as I assume the lacing is on both sides ???

Also like the cockpit edge lining, never heard of vector board before, did you use 2 prices of the board, one to form an edge then a strip covering it ? Could you confirm what thickness board you used and the best glue for it.

Looking forward to more instalments.

Cheers

Martin

20/05/2020 09:14:37

Hi Danny

Great tutorial, those oleo covers look the business.