By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more
Forum sponsored by:
Forum sponsored by CML

Crashed today, really annoyed with myself!

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
Simon Hall 226/10/2014 19:30:10
278 forum posts
48 photos

I have waited nearly 2 weeks for a gap in the weather to fly my Radian again. It was dry today, but the wind was averaging 10, gusting 20-25. It was a bit tricky controlling it smoothly on the climb and at altitude as I am still a beginner. I got it up to a decent height and thought I would just bring it down safely and call it a day as it was not much fun. I was fighting it upwind and had to use the motor a fair bit to try to get it in close for landing. Not being used to this kind of wind, there was a sudden gust fairly close to the ground which caught me unawares and resulted in a heavier landing than normal. I thought it was ok as the plane was quite close to the ground, but it broke the front end off! I should have just landed it slightly further out, but I was being lazy trying my best to bring it in as close as I could. It ended up as a fairly easy repair being a foamie, but I now wish I would have just had the sense and patience to wait a little longer for better flying conditions. The fuselage is now looking a little battered, so next time I crash, I think I will move the controls over to the new spare fuselage!

Edited By Simon Hall 2 on 26/10/2014 19:31:51

Phil Green26/10/2014 19:46:24
1639 forum posts
344 photos

No, leave it battered! you will learn far more quickly on a hack than a pristine airframe that you're scared to scratch!

10 gusting 25 could catch anybody out, even the experts. Worry less, fly more!

Cheers
Phil

Edited By Phil Green on 26/10/2014 19:47:12

john stones 126/10/2014 19:50:11
11648 forum posts
1517 photos

Absolutely correct Phil, mend it n fly it, and don't beat yourself up for making mistakes.

John

cymaz26/10/2014 20:00:10
9334 forum posts