Search for:  in Thread Title in  

Articles

Pilot Notes

Pilot Notes

Hangar 9 Sopwith Camel

Geoffrey Graham30/10/2007 19:36:00
15 forum posts
3 photos

The first thing that must be said about the Hangar 9 Camel ARTF is that it is an absolutely superb model in nearly every respect.  The covering, the build quality and the generally "authentic" finish are of a standard that I have never seen equalled in any of the ARTF kits I have assembled.  I have been slipping in the occasional ARTF now for about 8 years and some of them have been simply awful.

What I want to report though are issues which just take the gilding off the lilly.  I would like to hear from anyone else who has built this model and especially in respect of the points I will make.

The first and most irritating error occurs on page 13 of the otherwise excellent instruction manual.  You are told that the distance from the forewall to the front of the engine thrust washer must be 5 1/2 inches (140mm).  That distance is determined not by the physical size of the chosen engine but by the depth of the annular engine cowl supplied.  After figuring out how I would get my RCV.91CD engine to present its thrust washer at 5 1/2 inches I decided to add the required extension to the firewall in the shape of another 9mm of plywood lamination.  After all, weight is not an issue when a ballast box is provided to take several ounces of lead.  Doing this meant that access would be very difficult to the socket head bolts securing the for'd cabane strut tabs.  So I attached that first only to discover when finally offering up the cowl the crankcase was sticking well out beyond the front!  I reckon that the distance from firewall to washer should be 4 7/8" or 124mm.