Forum sponsored by CML

Servo hatch

construction between ribs?

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
Gary Murphy 115/05/2015 09:17:33
377 forum posts
14 photos

I am a new builder and this is the first time I have needed to make servo hatchs.

The model is a flair magnatilla and I am putting servos in the wings rather than one central.

I can not read plans well to make things worse.The wing as cap strips so I presume the hatch cover needs to be flush with them and removable with a slot for horn. I will then need to fix a section/plate of wood onto the inside of cap strips? would this need to be balsa or ply ? is the only for screwing the hatch to or mounting servo.

The plan shows 3 layers to the hatch but I can not work out which is solid and which needs cut/outs and wood type to mount to.

Alink to a picture or build would really help please

Dave Hopkin15/05/2015 09:31:44
3672 forum posts
294 photos

A typical servo hatch set up - though there are as many variants as builders!

The hatch itself needs some wood underneath it to take a screws that hold it in place, its not taking any great loading so doesnt need to be that beefy - a lip of 3mm ply or some square section 6mmx6mm will do

servo hatches.jpg

Cuban815/05/2015 09:39:02
2640 forum posts
13 photos

Not easy to give advice on this one as there are so many ways that you could go about solving the problem. Try to have a look at some plans of other models that have the servos arranged as you want and get inspiration and ideas from those.

I had a Maggie years ago and it worked very well with just the one aileron servo as designed, so perhaps trying to 're-invent the wheel' will just be giving you more work and bother.