Forum sponsored by:
Forum sponsored by CML

My first real crash

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
vic evans 102/09/2015 16:42:17
34 forum posts
5 photos

I'm a 3rd year novice recently had my first 'real' crash.

I was attempting to fly a 4 CH HK Club Trainer & carried out (I think) all of the pre flight tests including a range check. The 'plane was hand launched, banked right & continued into the deck despite all of my efforts to get it back on track. The Tx was a Dx6i & Rx an Orange R710 with satellite receiver. The plane had been successfully flown several times before.

When rebuilding the 'plane I found the Rx main aerial was detached from the Rx & as it wasn't fixed to the plane I don't think it was pulled off in the crash.

Could it be that the 'plane was tested & launched on the satellite aerial only & lost signal when it crashed about 100m from me ?

The Rx was OK as I then flew my Bixler for several long flights with no problems.

Radio interference was unlikely as I was flying on the cliff tops at Hoy, Orkney & have never had a problem there before.

I've yet to retest the systems as the plane is not fully rebuilt.

Cuban802/09/2015 17:05:50
2727 forum posts
13 photos

All of us with a few years of model flying under our belts have been in this position, so don't feel too badly about it.

What to do though?

Did you just lose roll control or had the model lost the other channels as well? dodgy aileron servo?

Was it just a bad hand launch and there wasn't enough control authority to get it back in time?

Was the battery OK?

Control reversed on ailerons perhaps?

If you inspect the broken aerial, does it look as though it's pulled out or possibly a fatigue break at the solder joint?

Does your tranny check out OK when range testing another RX.

If you can't pin the cause down !00% - I'd not risk the RX in a model, they're as cheap as chips anyway, so replace it as a precaution

Edited By Cuban8 on 02/09/2015 17:09:47