By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more
Forum sponsored by:
Forum sponsored by CML

Going to Poundland tomorrow anything i should snap up?

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
Mike Oblengo10/02/2016 19:22:22
7 forum posts

I am a beginner who loves tinkering this hobby is perfect for me. After Uni i will pop into town and go to poundland is there anything i can get on the cheap that will be useful for a new foam build?

Thanks.

M

Frank Skilbeck10/02/2016 22:23:30
4500 forum posts
101 photos

Not sure but I think Poundland do UHU POR glue which is good for foam. Also see if they do some modelling knives.

Geoff Sleath10/02/2016 22:35:52
3451 forum posts
307 photos

Poundland do sell UHU but it's not UHU POR ( at least in our local one) so not suitable for foam. I use a lot of Poundland Cyano, which seems to be OK, and some 5 minute epoxy but not in really critical areas.

Most PL tools are rubbish in my experience and not worth even the £1. Their tiewraps are useful.

The best buy in Poundland for me recently was a 3 watt LED bulb with a 230v bayonet connection. They've since disappeared but it was perfect for a dark passage in our house where we leave a light on all the time when it's dark outside. Not model related, of course but ...

Geoff

PatMc10/02/2016 22:53:59
4223 forum posts
521 photos

Do they charge 5p for bags or are they a pound like everything else ? teeth 2

Robin Colbourne10/02/2016 23:18:23
435 forum posts
6 photos

Bombay Mix. I bought five bags there on Monday as I couldn't find it anywhere else! laugh

When I went in a couple of weeks ago they had 20g bottles of cyano complete with a bottle of accelerator. Put it in the fridge if you're not using it, and test it on foam as its probably not foam safe.

10 metres of rolls of brown wrapping paper ideal for reinforcing skins on foam models too.