Forum sponsored by:
Forum sponsored by CML

Aerodynamics & the "Dive Test"

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
Dave Hopkin04/04/2016 10:07:25
3672 forum posts
294 photos

Re-reading the Jan 2106 issue Dave Burton's series on better flying addresses the stall, in that he talks about CoG and use of the dive test to verify its position

"If the model pulls out of the dive pretty smartly, then the CoG is probably too far forwards, if it tucks in and steepens the dive its probably too far back"

I don't doubt for a second the accuracy of that, but, to me at least, it appears counter-intuitive, I would have (in my blissful ignorance) that a forwards CoG would have tended to steepen the dive and a rearwards CoG pulled the tail down decreasing the dive

Can someone put me out of my misery and explain why?

Bucksboy04/04/2016 10:19:24
578 forum posts
109 photos

I'm no expert so I'm quite happy to be corrected but this is the way it was explained to me. The vertical dive test shows how much up or down trim is in your elevator. If your plane is nose heavy, you will have introduced some up into the elevator to compensate and keep the plane flying level. Now, without changing any settings get the plane high and dive it vertically down without power. If you've got up trim in the elevator, this will cause the plane to fly 'up' and therefore come out of the dive. If your elevator is at neutral, the plane hasn't required any trim compensation and will continue to fly vertically down.

This made sense to me, I hope it does to you. I've never had one tuck in as I lost one model because of C of G problems and always err on the side of caution.

Dave Hopkin04/04/2016 10:27:56
3672 forum posts
294 photos
Posted by Bucksboy on 04/04/2016 10:19:24: