Forum sponsored by CML

Piers's A4 Skyhawk

The story so far...

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  

Piers Bowlan17/08/2016 07:28:24
1707 forum posts
41 photos

This is not so much a build blog as that has been covered so well by others elsewhere, just a few details about what I have done differently. Plus, I am a bit late to the party in any event! I haven't built a PSS model for about twenty years so it is about time that changed. Recently I have been contenting myself slope soaring my foamy HK Vampire, which it does rather well.

The Fuz went together quite quickly without any issues apart from having to use quite a lot of pressure to pull the nose in. A few more saw cuts and some big clamps sorted that. I have been trying the Super Phatic glue which is new to me. I know it is all going to get covered but I don't like the staining of the wood, perhaps I am just a messy builder!

Piers Bowlan17/08/2016 07:44:46
1707 forum posts
41 photos

A4 Tail Group

I haven't bothered with the scale 'fluted' tail that others have done, mainly because I intend to film cover the model which would be tricky. As you can see I have spent the time instead on making a working rudder, for those knife edge Farnborough passes (yea right!). Just dry assembled to check full and free movement. I will plane/sand and cover all the parts before final assembly.

Piers Bowlan17/08/2016 07:56:30
1707 forum posts
41 photos

Servo installation

The other end of the snakes attached to a Hitec HS 85MG for elevator and an HS 60 for the rudder. Also a bit of triangular stock reinforcement next to F3. Probably not necessary as the Fuz is very strong.

Mark Kettle 109/10/2016 23:46:37
2160 forum posts
1303 photos

Coming on Piers watching with interest.

Edited By Mark Kettle 1 on 09/10/2016 23:47:04

Piers Bowlan10/10/2016 02:36:16
1707 forum posts
41 photos