Forum sponsored by:
Forum sponsored by CML

Help with this unknown model

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
Keith Newman19/10/2016 06:54:36
34 forum posts

Hi,

Recently I have been given this old model.

The Gentleman that gave it to me also gave me 2 sets of wing. One with a large amount of dihedral and the other with ailerons on.

The Wing length is 121 inch

The fuse length is 34 inch

The fuse alone weighs 10.5oz

This is with no electronics etc in it. Bare airframe.

I am looking at possibly making it electric powered, Where would I start to A) find out best way to mount the motor and B) what kind / power of motor do I need.

I have been flying for 16 years now, but knowledge on electric motors and mounting is limited.

Hope someone can help and possibly let me know the model that it is.

Thanks

photo IMG_9664_zpsbhwojywp.jpg

photo IMG_9665_zpsdnearlqo.jpg

photo IMG_9666_zpshyg5wbqe.jpg

Edited By Keith Newman on 19/10/2016 06:56:18

Edited By Keith Newman on 19/10/2016 06:56:31

Percy Verance19/10/2016 07:22:17
8108 forum posts
155 photos

Hi Keith

Well Keith, it looks old for a start. It also appears to have been well flown and repaired a few times. The rear end has more than a whiff of Junior 60 about it, but I'm afraid the front end has me beat. The undercarriage has the look of DB in the way it's formed and mounted.

In order to mount an electric motor Keith, it appears you may need to add a bulkhead in the area of that engine mounting plate. The plate will of course need to be taken out. It won't need a large electric motor Keith, but as I'm no electric expert myself, I will need to leave it to those with more electric experience to advise you here...

Good luck with it.

Percy Verance19/10/2016 07:24:20
8108 forum posts
155 photos

Now that I've looked at it again, it actually looks a bit like a DB Tinker but without a bottom wing.......