Forum sponsored by:
Forum sponsored by CML

Lavochkin La7 - Warbird Replicas Kit

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  

Pete H24/01/2017 23:46:07
71 forum posts
58 photos

Prompted by the Kit Builders What Would You Like? thread I purchased a Lavochkin La7 from Richard at Warbird Replicas. Service was first class and the kit arrived the on my doorstep next day.

This kit will be the first scale kit I have built, first warbird and it will also be my first IC plane.

I plan to power it by a Laser 70 that I purchased from Jon at Laser where the service was also superb and very helpful.

The kit arrive in an undamaged box and the contents looked good with a detailed instruction manual.

Box.jpg

I pinned some inspiration on the wall and started to digest the instructions and plan.

Target.jpg

This is my first build on here so hopefully I won't make too many mistakes along the way.

john stones 124/01/2017 23:56:16
10499 forum posts
1480 photos

Good looking Airplane Pete, That your intended colour scheme ?

John

Pete H25/01/2017 07:31:02
71 forum posts
58 photos
That is the colour scheme I'm going to use. It's the one with the most photos on the net plus it look pretty simple.
Jon - Laser Engines25/01/2017 08:32:08
4770 forum posts
179 photos

I love my bigger YT La7. Its a very imposing shape once you get it in the air and im sure you will love it. Also being Russian front it will get more scale with age as it wont matter if its bashed up, filthy and looking like a patchwork. My model is looking quite abused at this point.

One thing i would recommend is adding something to your paint job even if its non scale. That grey camo is very effective and at times all i can see of my 80'' model is a red cowling. Perhaps add some stripes to the upper wing surfaces like this example just to help with visibility.

Shane Sunday25/01/2017 08:36:14
342 forum posts
160 photos