Forum sponsored by:
Forum sponsored by CML

Seagull Hurricane

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
Steveflys14/02/2017 21:53:48
103 forum posts
4 photos

Has anybody assembled and flown the Seagull Hurricane.

I've just finished mine, using a DLE35ra. I would be interested how you got on with the c of g. Mine appears to be quite tail heavy and I'm reluctant to add so much weight before hearing from others.

Thanks

Jon - Laser Engines14/02/2017 22:03:06
4443 forum posts
164 photos

Add the weight. Its a warbird and they always need it.

I assume its the 80 inch job? if so with the engine you have it will fly fine up to about 18lbs so just have at it with the beef. go easy on the elevator rates as well.

While I have no direct experience with that model I have plenty of similar ones and its always the same story. And for what its worth, the full size Hurricane has hunks of lead strapped to the engine mount so its perfectly scale!

Steveflys14/02/2017 22:11:00
103 forum posts
4 photos

Thanks for that Jon. Yes it's the 80" model. I'm taking it to our club night tomorrow night (Chesham) so I'll get Richard Ginger to check it out with me, as you well know he's got lots of experience with warbirds like yourself.

Jon - Laser Engines14/02/2017 23:15:22
4443 forum posts
164 photos

oh yea I know Richard well, I'm sure he will sort it out....and then chastise you for not fitting a 4 stroke

I'm sure it will fly well, I would be interested to see it actually as I have been asked about it by customers and its always good to keep up with new stuff

neil martin 116/03/2017 12:03:41
26 forum posts
9 photos

Have you maidened the Seagull Hurricane yet? I have one with a Roto 35 (needed the weight!). Id be interested to know how it went, what to look out for, were the retracts sufficient? Thanks.

Steveflys16/03/2017 15:15:24
103 forum posts
4 photos

Hi Neil,