Forum sponsored by:
Forum sponsored by CML

Measuring thrust angle?

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
Tony Kenny15/09/2017 13:43:28
282 forum posts
62 photos

My phoenix 2000 climbs nose up like a flippin rocket when I throttle up and a knowledgeable chap at the field suggested altering the thrust line down a bit. Easy enough. But, is there a way to actually measure the effect the adjustment has, without driving to the field and chucking the thing in the air?

I'm imagining some sort of frame where the model is suspended and then newton meters on the 4 axis. These, I imagine, would have to be positioned a close to the nose as is safe to do so near the prop so as to measure the actual forces.

Not being an engineer, actually I'm a software engineer, so I'm making this up as I go along, does it sound like it might work to at least put some numbers on the effect of the adjustments before trying them in the air?

What's the plural of axis? axes? or just axis?

john stones 115/09/2017 13:56:56
10796 forum posts
1481 photos

It's supposed to climb under full throttle, gain height hunt thermals, use the height to do aeros, if you want to fly low n quick, feed down trim in or put a mix on, or hold down on stick. I changed the motor on mine, adjusting the thrust angle isn't easy it's a right faff. Plural of axis is "some axis or choppers"

Stuphedd15/09/2017 14:00:25
674 forum posts
353 photos

I measure my thrust angles with a very simple device ,

I use a spirit level bolted onto the engine instead of a prop , But to measure any angle you need a datum , ! Which in my case tends to be the wing incidence, measure this with and incidence meter , those i phone things have them on lots of free appsl Tilt the fuz till the bubble in the spirit level is centred and read the incidence level .then a bit ob subtraction will give you a figure ,

cheers

Tony Kenny15/09/2017 14:10:43
282 forum posts
62 photos

Thanks guys,