Forum sponsored by CML

Novice Build

DB Corben Baby Ace

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
Bill Reed27/09/2017 13:42:03
80 forum posts
2 photos

I am new to the hobby and building more so. I wanted to build a model that I can fly after I have passed my test.

I have already posted several questions about building,i bought a second hand Flair Junior 60 kit which I intended to build first BUT there is no real manual and the plans are very dark so reading them was making things hard so I read that DB kits are very good.

So I now have a Second hand DB Corben Baby Ace kit, has new never out of box. The manual gives fairly good info.

Now,I am no great photo taker and don't intend to do a really indepth build and due to my skill set the posts might be few and far between but I am hoping the guys who have seen this will look out for posts because I will need tips for sure. I think I am capable of doing a good quality of work regards fit etc its just the technical side that will cause headaches.

the kit is very good quality being laser cut. the wood is very good quality and packed great, DB kits look great for sure.

Bill Reed27/09/2017 13:50:32
80 forum posts
2 photos

Last night I started the tail and elevators. Did not go well. Building over the plan all the joints looked good. it was when i unpinned the parts and turned over i noticed the rear of joints had gaps. this did not look good and when i tried the bond i could see it showed weakness.

The reason i think is that the edges of the parts were not square. The wood here was 3/8 and i think for some reason the cutting on the thick parts is not square. The ribs being thinner are great and out thinner parts.

Perhaps its my fault and you do not build straight from box,perhaps i needed to sand the edges first BUT this might make the parts too small????? Don't know.

dscn0390.jpg

dscn0389.jpg

Bill Reed27/09/2017 13:56:52
80 forum posts
2 photos